PUTO: LEGENDARY DELICACY NO. 3

Hey there, friends! Today we’ll share to you the third legendary delicacy of my family, the most search Visayan bread of all time -- Puto

1.jpg

Last Good Friday, my siblings came home. This is the annual situation especially for me whose older brothers and sisters were already occupied with their own families. As accustomed, we welcome them with food which we always miss and casually enjoyed together as extended family.

Puto is a delicacy very known here in Cebu developed by our ancestors. But nowadays, in this generation, native ways are slowly erasing due to easier ways of cooking and technology kicked in. Well, in my family, I am here to continue their accustomed works. Anticipation and cooking such delicacy is one of my favorites.

2.jpg

Puto is also a bread, a meal, or a snack made of Kamoteng-kahoy or Balanghoy or Casabe (cassava flour). Cassava comes in two types - the yellowish and the white type. The yellowish is woody but best for making puto for its original color while the white one is good for making flour for bread. With just a pinch of salt, water and a little sweetness can make you forget your precious name hehe! This nutritious food has been a diet of many Cebuanos. It is rich in starch, carbohydrates and fiber since it is a food driven from roots. It can be served with Sikwate (cocoa drink). Puto has cultural significance for its use in various ceremonies and celebrations, wedding, birthday, picnics, and reunion symbolizing unity and togetherness.

33.jpg

By this summer season, kamoteng-kahoy is ready to be harvested. Pulling out the root from the ground is the enjoyable part of harvesting this plant. Puto is not baked but steamed using a special clay pot of its own. With 7 holes in the size of puncher hole and a water capacity of 1 liter to 2 liters.

Steps

To cook Puto, several processes is undergone because the kamoteng-kahoy can be poisonous if not properly cleaned and the flour can be deadly if not properly extracted with its juices. Didn’t you wonder why it is called Kamoteng-Kahoy? It is called such because there is a wood inside the fruit which is not included in making flour. The juice in the inside wood is toxic. For now, I am only assisting my mother cooking it because I am occupied on making the cocoa powder (See Blog).

  1. First, the harvested kamoteng-kahoy must be skinned off. Then washed thoroughly to remove soil dirts.

  2. Utilizing a grater to extract the flour. Be sure not to include the wood inside.

  3. Squeeze the flour to remove the liquid. The liquid is bad for the taste and may be poisonous too.

  4. Now, with the dry flour, measure about 4 to 5 cups and mixed with 1/8 kilo of sugar (muscovado sugar is the best). Mixed well and put it in the pot for steaming. Cook for 40 minutes in medium heat (wood fire is the best).

Puto can be mixed also with grated coconut, chopped sweet potato or mashed banana. I have requested mom for this but there’s no one to grate the coconut and no banana. But it’s okay for such calls for another job to do (and another blog hehe!). With a full pail of kamoteng-kahoy, mom have manage to cook 8 large servings which is to be shared for our family.

Thanks guys, thank you for reading till here and hope you enjoy my recipe. Follow the batanggwapo and be amazed with many more adventures in my life.

3.jpg

4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg

Sort:  

Puto balanghoy is my favorite snack. I know how to do it I practiced it when I was in province.

It looks very lami sir @batanggwapo!🤤

mas lami ko .aw 😆

Ugh,I miss eating puto balanghoy. It's what I look forward to whenever I visit my province. And it always fascinates me how big they make it—like a big rock. 😄

Puto is one of the famous delicacy in our province, best partner with "sikwati" taste so delicious😍

Kalami, we used to make it together with my Lola in my province, this is our snack when we are at the house of our grandparents.

Congratulations @batanggwapo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day