Delivery Driving With a Helper

Hello friends and Hivers. I hope you all are doing well. A bit of storms here the last couple of days. I'm really starting to miss me some sun but it will return soon enough. This article will be about me delivery driving with a helper, my son.

Before we get there I woke up on Sunday in kind of a lazy mood. I'll blame the rainy weather on it, hehe. It was pouring rain much of it. Spent the majority of the morning on the couch sipping away on some coffee. It took me awhile but I made a late breakfast. The morning really slipped away from me and I didn't bother trying to wake my son up until breakfast was done.

The master plan was to go around noon time but we didn't leave until around 2:30. This wasn't the first time my son has accompanied me doing this. It's only been a handful of times and he has only drove three times.

There are some benefits to tag teaming this job. Two is better than one in several tasks. As far as safety is concerned most of the phone transactions that happen when the vehicle is in motion can be done by the passenger. This allows the driver to pay more to attention to their responsibilities of driving.

Another advantage is when it comes to huge food orders or large grocery orders. It less work and fewer trips are needed to the customer's doorstep. We had four grocery orders today and it saved me at least 8 trips of carrying groceries. A time saver which allows more time to get more orders. We didn't have any apartment deliveries which can be a pain especially if you have to climb multiple stairs carrying groceries. If we did, it would have made it not so bad having two extra hands.

Some others benefits include having someone to keep you company. Being it's a family member it allows time to bond and make some money at the same time.It's also useful when you deliver in areas that don't have close parking or have parking that requires payment. It's nice to get as close to the delivery point as possible. Avoiding parking meters is a good thing. It's done by one person dropping off the goods while the driver circles around to pick you up when your done.

Another benefit that doesn't have a bearing doing the job so much but is good driving experience for a young driver. I remember him doing it for the first time, he would miss turns, drive by the delivery house and among other things. I tell you it was a little stressful sitting in the passenger seat as someone else drives your car 😂. Anyways he got a lot better each time he went. I believe him doing this has made him a better driver.

Alright let's get to the delivering stats. We only drove for a little over two hours and did five deliveries. We had four grocery orders we picked up at Walmart. One was single order which was our first delivery. The others were a bundled 3 order delivery. In between these grocery orders we did a good delivery we picked up at Panera Bread.

So we drove a total of 45 miles and made about 55 dollars. Recently I have saved all of my delivery driving earnings so I can fix my old car which will become my son's car. Afterwards we decided to go out for some delicious ice cream. If your curious as to where and how the experience went you can read about it here.

If my son isn't busy with his friends he doesn't mind going out doing some deliveries with me. When he drives my ears sometimes bleed because I let him listen to his music 😂 There's a few songs on his playlist I don't mind though 😊

Well this is all I have for you this time. I should have something cool and special next time. Take care, stay safe and enjoy the rest of the week.

Sort:  

Niceyyy, it's also like a bonding moment with you two aside from other amazing benefits on having a company. So he loves rock or heavy metal music? That's the only downside you have to experience when having him with you but at least the advantage is much more no 😆. And what an amazing reward after all the driving. Ice cream is yummy yum yum 🥴

So he loves rock or heavy metal music?

No its the rap with the offensive and sexual content not sure what it's actually called. But I find myself reaching for the volume control a lot to turn it down.

Only other down side is I'm not completely relaxed sitting in the passenger seat because I'm super attentive as a teenager is driving my car 🤣. But all in all it's like you said many more benefits than disadvantages 😁

He didn't get into a wreck so I rewarded him with ice cream or to calm my nerves haha just kidding 😂

I'm always happy to see you spending time with your son. Kids his age these days don't really do that, but obviously it depends on the family. That ice cream is 😍😁

Yup been squeezing more time in with him lately as College life will be taking his time. Starts in late August but will have quite the basketball schedule leading up to that. He just just signed his LOI and his basketball scholarship yesterday actually, proud moment 😁

It has been a good different experience, it seems better to drive with company and a very good company in this case and then ice-cream!!! 🤗
Happy day amigo!
!LUV
!HUG

Yup a good experience and the ending rewarding, haha.
Happy days forward to you Amiga 🤗
!PIZZA
!LOLZ

!ALIVE
!PIZZA

@coolmidwestguy! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ duvinca. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Dear @coolmidwestguy, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @duvinca.
(2/3)

coolmidwestguy, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Great bond for the two of you,♥️ at the same time enhancing his driving skills. More deliveries to come to save more money for his car😬😁

I really appreciate his company doing this especially when we get into grocery orders 😊

Can do more delivery.

Of course some this weekend perhaps but than my full time job will be taking my time as it's going to be pretty busy the next week or so. A lot of workload coming ✈️🛫

Congratulations @coolmidwestguy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@duvinca(2/5) tipped @coolmidwestguy
coolmidwestguy tipped duvinca

Hello coolmidwestguy!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥉 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You and your curator receive 0.2056 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 7.53% share of the reward from Daily Report 307. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUBROWN token for taking 3rd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START