What makes birthdays so special? ✧ENG/ESP✧

If you ask me what December means to me, I can only describe it with one word: family, because for me it is all there is in that month, everything that drives absolutely all the actions I do and all the thoughts I have (and the expenses, why deny it). After a lethargy that I join without apparent explanation (or maybe I do, I just don't want to dig too much into it), what rescues me is family, and not necessarily because I am an advocate of family love at all times, because being very honest, sometimes there are moments that we need alone, or what I call taking a "vacation" from the family, not family.

Si me preguntan lo que significa para mí diciembre, solo puedo describirlo con una palabra: familia, porque para mí es todo lo que hay en ese mes, todo a lo que conduce absolutamente todas las acciones que hago y todos los pensamientos que tengo (y los gastos, para qué negarlo). Después de un letargo al que me sumo sin explicación aparente (o tal vez la tenga, sólo que no quiero hurgar mucho en ello), lo que me rescata es la familia, y no necesariamente porque sea una defensora del amor familiar en todo momento, pues siendo muy honesta, a veces hay momentos que necesitamos a solas, o lo que llamo yo tomarse “vacaciones” de la familia, no familiares.


But what a surprise, because last year it wasn't being away from them that made me rest, it was being with them that made me recharge my batteries, only to wear them out again, and enter a cycle of constant energy that kept me extremely happy. And proof of this are the memories that are captured in what is one of my favorite ways to portray them, in photographs. Despite not being very enthusiastic about celebrating my birthdays (but not because of the idea of being a year older, it's more because of the attention that comes with it), I can't describe what overpowered me to decide that I would not only celebrate my birthday with gusto, but also share it with more birthday boys and girls.

Pero qué sorpresa, porque el año pasado no fue estar lejos de ellos lo que me hizo descansar, fue estar con ellos lo que me hizo recargar mis baterías, para luego desgastarlas otra vez, y entrar en un ciclo de energía constante que me tuvo sumamente feliz. Y prueba de ello son los recuerdos que quedan capturados en lo que es una de mis formas favoritas de retratarlos, en las fotografías. A pesar de no ser muy entusiasta de celebrar mis cumpleaños (pero no por la idea de estar un año mayor, es más por la atención que eso conlleva), no puedo describir lo que me dominó para decidir que no sólo celebraría mi cumpleaños con ganas, pero también lo compartiría con más cumpleañeros.


My family is big; not huge, but big, so there is never a month in which someone is not having a birthday, but in December birthdays are more in a row, so one of my cousins and I blew out candles on the same day and shared with the rest, and I won't deny that what I was most excited about was tasting that delicious cake his girlfriend made. I look at these pictures and it makes my heart happy because I felt like we were all glowing, and not because it was an extraordinary date or an extravagant event or anything like that, it was because simply being with all my special relatives and friends made me think I had everything I could ask for and more than that.

Mi familia es grande; no inmensa, pero grande, así que nunca hay un mes en el que alguien no esté de cumpleaños, pero en diciembre los cumpleaños son más seguidos, así que uno de mis primos y yo soplamos velas el mismo día y compartimos con el resto, y no voy a negar que lo que más me emocionaba era probar esa deliciosa torta que hizo su novia. Veo estas fotos y se me alegra el corazón porque sentía que todos estábamos radiantes, y no porque fuera una fecha extraordinaria o un acontecimiento extravagante o algo por el estilo, era porque sencillamente estar con todos mis parientes y amigos especiales me hacía pensar que tenía todo lo que podía pedir y más que eso.


I am grateful to those who were, those who were and those who will be, and I wish that you who read me also celebrate all that you have on your special day, especially yourselves for successfully getting to blow out another candle for another year. Thanks for reading me, I'll read you in an upcoming post!

Estoy agradecida con los que estuvieron, los que estaban y los que estarán, y deseo que ustedes que me leen también celebren todo lo que tienen en su día especial, sobre todo a ustedes mismos por llegar con éxito a soplar otra velita un año más. ¡Gracias por leerme, los leo en un próximo post!



All photographs used are from my personal gallery.

Todas las fotos utilizadas son de mi galería personal.

Sort:  

Keeping family close to you and having your loved ones around at least during the special moments of life is a must. Definitely not a thing appreciated as much as it should by the younger generations but the sooner they will realize the importance of a family, the better.

Congratulations @divinojupiter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 300 comments.
Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024