MY SHRU FRIEND'S WEDDING IN BUKIDNON

in Family & Friends10 months ago

IMG_20230706_065929.jpg

"Shru, I still remember the first time I saw you seven years ago, you were wearing a white floral cropped top and faded blue jeans and just how fast the time flies, you're now in front of me wearing your white wedding gown..." -Japhet


In my twenty-six years of existence on earth, this is my first time attending a real wedding and becoming a part of it.

December of last year, Lady, my colleague way back in 2017 when I was still working in a call center (Sykes) in Cebu City reached out to me after few years of no constant communication and asked me to be her Bridesmaid.

It has been five years since the last time we saw and talked to each other. We were facebook friends but we rarely communicate so it was a surprise to me when she told me I would be one of his bridesmaids. That just makes me feel special, honestly --- that after all these years, she still remembered me.


IMG_5185.JPG

We were inseparable when we were still working in Sykes. They (Lady and Japhet) were one of the few people who I became close with and they had been like my elder brother and sister.

"Pyang, I want you to be my bridesmaid when we get married." -Lady (2017)

I never knew she would stick to her promise but I was really genuinely happy when after all these years, she still remembered it.

Without any hesitation, I said YES.

I didn't care how far the wedding would be or if I had to leave a few days from work. I just wanted to be there for her and for the most memorable and happiest day of their lives.

I wanted to be there to witness their vows.

And to be there to let them know how happy I was that they finally had to tie the knot.

IMG_20230706_094848.jpg


You might be wondering why Japhet mentioned Shru on his speech. Shru is their endearment. Seems strange, right?

That was also what I thought the first time I heard them call each other that. But here's a quick storytime on how they ended up calling each other Shru.

Days after they started dating, they planned on having an endearment but Lady didn't like the cliché call signs like Love, Babe, Hon and the like (No offense to the couples who are calling each other those names but that was just for her). She wanted something unique and catchy.

After a few weeks, they still hadn't decided what to call each other yet until one time, they went into a karaoke bar and Japhet sang a song with a "true" in the lyrics but he mispronounced it as "shru". From then on, they called each other Shru.

I really find it sweet, though.

Anyway, when Lady talked to me about the details of the wedding, I immediately booked a flight to Bukidnon and I was really really REALLY excited as the wedding day got closer and closer.

I arrived at Bukidnon the day before the wedding. The venue was at Jocels Garden Suites in Valencia, Bukidnon. Even though I was still jetlagged from my four-hour bus travel from Santander to Cebu City, one hour flight from Mactan Cebu to Cagayan de Oro and another five and a half hour travel by bus from CDO to Valencia, Bukidnon, I still managed to catch up with them because there was no time to waste. And it has been five years since we had a conversation in person.

IMG_20230705_135259.jpg

THE NIGHT BEFORE THE WEDDING

While waiting for Lady's sister and maid of honor from Thailand, we decided to have a dinner first just the three of us, had some catching up and life updates. After few hours of waiting, her sister finally arrived so we started the bridal shower.

We just wore our pajamas, decorated the room, had some heart-to-heart conversations, do some videos and had some photoshoots.

FB_IMG_1689088337425.jpg

We got exhausted afterwards so we went immediately to our rooms to sleep since we still have to wake up early the next morning for the preparation and another photo and video shoots.

THIS IS IT ... THE MOST AWAITED DAY

We woke up at two in the morning to have our make up done and to ready ourselves for the photoshoot. We just stayed in one room with the bride for the makeup session and I just can't contain my happiness for this is finally the most awaited day for my friend. I'm just so happy for her.

IMG_20230706_045145.jpg

I can't stop saying that.

After the make up session, we went straight ahead to the garden to have our photoshoot. We made several poses and did some clips for the videos for the wedding.

FB_IMG_1689087916255.jpg

FB_IMG_1689087898914.jpg

THE WEDDING

I thought I would only be able to witness these kinds of moments in movies. I never thought I'd be able to see them with my own naked eyes.

The ceremony started at eight in the morning.

It was an intimate white garden wedding with just their close friends and families around and the ceremony was headed by a Datu.

IMG_20230706_070012.jpg

The moment Lady walked down the aisle, I felt my tears ran down my cheeks. It was just... PERFECT. And the fact that I have been rooting for their relationship since day one and they had become one of my role models in finding my own soulmate added to the intensity of my emotions at that moment.

The place was just full of love and affection and intimacy and for someone like me who tend to believe that true love no longer exists, that moment made me wake up from a reality or perhaps with a touch of fantasy that someday somewhere, someone is really meant for me.

IMG_20230706_045109.jpg

It's me, Hi -- being glammed up for the wedding.

IMG_20230706_075913 (1) (1).jpg

I don't know when that someday would be but they made me believe in something beautiful. They made me go back to the seventeen-year-old hopeless romantic Happy who made believe in true love and all the other butterflies and lilies.

IMG_20230706_102119.jpg

THE WEDDING RECEPTION

After the wedding ceremony in the garden, all the visitors, family and friends went ahead to the social hall of the villa for the reception. There was a short program before lunch time.

FB_IMG_1689088659988.jpg

The entourage presented a short dance presentation as they made an entrance to the hall starting from the maid of honor and best man down to the bridesmaids and groomsmen and finally to the newly-wed couple.

The reception was extravagant and magical. There were flowers everywhere, some romantic lights, food, photo booth, and pastries corner. I couldn't help myself but in awe of such wonderful sight when I went inside.

IMG_20230706_123445.jpg

The couple's first dance as newly-wed.

Lunch was served after the short program and a same-day video edit of the wedding day was also flashed on screen that made me cry once again.

Ah, how I wish to meet a love like this.

IMG_20230706_134607.jpg

Sort:  

The way you described the whole wedding is lovely, looks like you are very happy for your friend. 🥰

I really am 🥰 up to this day, i still can't stop smiling to the thought that they finally tied the knot. ❤️

Weeww! Best wishes to both happy and loving couple. Love the wedding theme sis.

Yess. The wedding theme was really nice. 🥰 Can imagine pod having mine like this sa future char hahaha

Weww! Ikaw na sunod sis. Where is it in Bukidnon? I am living here.

Hahaha ngita sa kog partner. 🤣🤣 Bitaw, sa Valencia, Bukidnon ni. Hehe

Aw, I would also like to find a love like that 😍. It is true that these weddings seem only from movies, but it is good that you have witnessed one and with the pleasure of being the bridesmaid. Everything looks beautiful, the decoration and everyone's outfits. I hope you had fun and I wish forever love to this happy couple. Cheers!

Thank you 🥰 still can't contain my happiness for them. I was really like in the movies when witnessing their wedding ❤️

Everything I see and feel is love and beauty. Beat wishes tp the lovely couple. And I hope you find your real love too soon. Just believe.

Don't stop believing! Hahaha i'll just wait for mine to come 😁

Wow! Best wishes to the couple. You look so gorgeous as always.

Thank youuu 🥰

You are welcome.

Thank youuu 🥰

I remember our garden wedding as well. The place looks stunning just like the bride and groom. Ikaw na ba Ang next? Hehe just kidding.

Hahaha di pa tayo sure. Char 🤣 but yeah, the wedding was so romantic and perfect.

Congratulations and best wishes to the couple!😊 The reception area looks grand!

Thank you 🥰