My closest friends got married. Was I left behind?

Hello amazing people in this wonderful community! I hope everyone is doing and feeling great today.

For this blog, I will be sharing how I handled things when my two closest friends got married. I will also be sharing my thoughts to those ladies like me who are in their waiting season.

PicsArt_04-08-10.27.01.jpg

PicsArt_04-08-10.26.30.jpg

Since we are an inseparable trio, I will try to provide answers to the following questions:

When they got married, were you left behind?

Did you ever feel jealous of how life turns out for them? Do you think life has been unfair to you?

Are you ready for the changes in your friendship now that they have settled down?

And the resonating question that everyone has asked me,

How about you? When are you getting married?

Before getting into details, I will share how our friendship started.

HOW IT ALL STARTED

We're living in one barangay (village) but in different sitios (a cluster of households that make up a barangay). We are not the typical neighborhood friends but we grew up sharing the same likes, passion, and even dreams.

PicsArt_04-06-10.07.20.jpg
We've known each other in the church. If there is something that we have in common, it is our undying service to the Lord and His people. Also, that is the foundation of our friendship. From being a choir member to being a summer catechist, to becoming a lector and a psalmist - we all did that together. We were called the TRIO. There's never any church activity in which the three of us did not participate. From then on, we know our friendship will last.

PicsArt_04-27-09.54.46.jpg

PicsArt_04-27-09.54.58.jpg

A GLIMPSE OF OUR INDIVIDUALITY

Ate is a goal-driven person. She has her timeline for her goals and she is obsessed with studying. At the age of 27, she already gained her Doctoral Degree.

IMG_20230408_095927.jpg

Our youngest is always the listener in our group. She pays attention to her ate's perspective on things. She is the youngest so we must protect her at all costs.

IMG_20230408_095917.jpg

In our trio, I am the one who always talks about love. I am vocal when it comes to crushes, love, and relationship. So they think, I will be the one to get married first. (Yeah, it was funny how things turned out! Hehehe. )

PicsArt_04-15-07.38.28.jpg

FAST FORWARD

Years passed by and we both graduated college and landed on stable jobs. Inevitable as it is, we also talked about our plans of settling down. We talked about how our sons and daughters will find true friends in each other as much as their mothers do. Hahaha. I was sure of how things would turn out to be but I guess, life has a different surprise for me.

PicsArt_04-06-10.07.35.jpg

Cute, isn't it?

PicsArt_04-28-06.41.00.jpg

PicsArt_04-28-06.41.26.jpg

I do not have a large number of friends. I prefer quality over quantity. I could not count on my fingers the real-est friends that I have. That is why, all this time, they are my constants.

How did I feel when my closest friends got married?

Ate got married in August 2021 while our youngest tied the knot in March 2022 while I - their maid of honor. I played the role so well that God could not think of any character that best suits me! Hahaha! (Always a bridesmaid but never a bride? Oh gosh!)

PicsArt_04-07-07.51.47.jpg

PicsArt_04-25-11.26.03.jpg

Ate's wedding

PicsArt_04-06-10.08.00.jpg

PicsArt_04-25-11.35.53.jpg

IMG_20230425_112357.jpg

Our youngest's wedding

When I learned about their plans of settling down, I was more excited than them. My heart leaped with joy and excitement and I could not contain my happiness. I cried tears of joy and repeatedly, I was congratulating them.

I know that might sound safe, defensive, or maybe sugarcoated but to be honest, I did not feel like being left behind like how someone in my position supposedly feels. In silence, I carefully examined and assessed myself if this is still normal, am I in denial or maybe the idea hasn't sunk in yet.

Why do I feel not bothered at all?

My soul isn't bothered at all. It is still in peace. In my heart, I am assured that even if they will be starting a new page in their lives, I will always be part of it. There is no escape from me. Hehehe. I will never be a headache to their husbands; they are my good friends too. I felt secure with the kind of friendship that we have. Yes, it's true that sooner, things will change. We will not hang out that much or if we will, they will always have their plus one but I can do that too. Hahaha, Who knows? I know you know what I mean.

PicsArt_04-16-08.28.46.jpg

PicsArt_04-16-08.29.18.jpg

I set myself up for whatever changes may come. I am always grateful for them for they did not allow the jealousy in me to prosper. I am not feeling like I was left behind. I feel like they also carry me, and include me in their new journey of life. I don't know if I made sense explaining this but that's how they made me feel. That's how our friendship made me feel. They showed me that I am always secured, included, and never a burden to their new path.

PicsArt_04-15-07.37.29.jpg

Seeing them finally living their own life with the person they truly love makes my heart grow fonder. That is also my dream and my consistent prayer for them. They deserve the purest love from the person they choose to spend their lives with. I will always be their maid, hahaha, to serve and offer them my loyalty. I was, am, and will always be cheering and rooting for them while I am waiting for my turn.

PicsArt_04-08-10.24.33.jpg
PicsArt_04-27-09.52.15.jpg

PicsArt_04-27-09.52.47.jpg

SOMETHING TO PONDER

Friends are our extended family. They will always have a space and a home in our hearts, no matter where our feet take us to. With the friendship that we have, I know I will never be alone.

One of these days, it will be my turn to walk down that aisle while shouting, "Stop the wedding!" Hahahaha! But seriously, it will be my turn someday, in God's perfect time.

PicsArt_04-08-10.27.57.jpg

To the ladies who are in their season of waiting,

Let's make our waiting productive. Let's continue discovering our hidden potential, improving our talents, and investing in ourselves. To wait for God's timing is a way of entrusting Him things and circumstances beyond our control. Soon, our hearts will be rewarded for the patience we extended and for the waiting we had to endure!✨

PicsArt_04-28-06.26.27.jpg

Thank you so much for reading this far. I pray that everyone is safe and well. Until the next writing.

(Some photos were Fb tagged on me.)

Sort:  

Congratulations @netswriting! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you so much @hivebuzz .

All good @netswriting! You're a real Hive pro! Onward to that new goal!

Oh this is a loving story and I felt related. When I was very young all my sister got married, when was finally my turn the boyfriend dissappear from the face of the earth. Thankfully my sister's and I always being very close and the it growing only make me happy. With time my prince charming, my husband came to my life. Actually in an older and more mature age. Sadly by that time my sister's marriages were over except for one. They married too young and quickly. Mine last till death do us part.

Ohhhhhh, I love your story too! There is always a perfect timing for true and lasting love! We just have to wait for it in the perfect time.

You are so blessed to have constant friends. Even though they are married but still make time just to be with each other.

Sooo, yes your time in getting married will soon be realized at the perfect time. God bless you Madam. Invites nya hahaha

Hahaha in God's perfect time madam. One of these days.

Yaaaay! Pohon madam❤️

Puhon maayong panlawas ug pamulsa madam. Haha

I love the closeness for the TRIO. Having close friends is truly a blessing. Though they tied knots with their partner for sure you will always have them whatever happens.

Yes maam! The assurance and security of the friendship that we have is beyond measure.

Thanks for dropping by maam.☺️

Blessed kaayo ka maam nga naa kay mga consistent nga mga friends ,ako kay murag wala jud hihi.
Bitaw oy ,in God's perfect time moabot rana sa imo maam gi andaman pa ni God ang sakto jud para nimo 😊🤗

I agree maam! Blessed kaayo ko to have genuine friends and a sister figure in them.

Puhon, paabuton maam. Hehe

It takes great maturity to handle situations like this with such grace. You are a true friend to have been genuinely happy and excited for your closest friends' weddings. It is also admirable how you have reflected on your own feelings and assessed yourself honestly. Your confidence that your friendship will endure even through life changes is inspiring. Remember, everyone's journey is different, and it is important to focus on your own path and not compare it to others. Keep being true to yourself and stay positive, great things are yet to come for you too!

Thank you for your kind words! I appreciate it so much!

I agree. We have our different timeline. While I am waiting for my turn, I will always cheer for the people around me.

Thanks for dropping by.☺️

This is so beautiful. The pictures show how tight you people are. It's a good thing that you've not allowed their new life weigh you down.

On the good side, you have two friends who will willingly play the role of your braids maid.

True @wongi !☺️ When the time is right, I have two maids of honor.❤️

I am so lucky to have genuine friends like them☺️. They're really for keeps.

Life gave them to you and you should be grateful 😊

I'm always grateful for having them.☺️

😊✨

This is your best time to travel. Also, save money for yourself. Basta naa kay travel fund, savings, and other investments. Before, I told myself, if dili ko maka settle down with someone ug magka baby, mag ampon ra gyud kog bata. hehehe

Thanks for the advice maam @itravelrox ! Kun unsay pagbuot sa Kahitas-an maam, okay ra gyud ko.☺️

Bitaw, basin wa dinha sa inyo ang para imoha. Pangetaon gyud ra ba na. Mao na nahitabo nako. Nangeta jud ko. hehe

Haha. Passive man ko maam @itravelrox . Magpaabot ra kog naay moabot.😂 If wala, manglock najud kos pultahan. Hahaha

hahaha manglock gyud! XD

Kuyaw na kaayong panahon maam. Naay moabot og kalit, mobiya sad way pupananghid. Aw😂 maong, idouble lock gyud ouyy😂

haha kuyaw na after covid XD

Last year one of my closest friends got married too, so I sort of feel your emotion and thoughts but in the end it's just the course of everyone's life :)

True @gabrielatravels ! We have our own and individual calling in life. Let's just say, What's bound to happen, will happen.☺️

Thank you for dropping by.☺️

Interesting story... I have felt that way too.