Babysitting Grouchy Bea: A Weekend with My Cousin

in Family & Friends15 days ago

Blog First Page.png

Konnichiwa Hivers! It's me, ridgette saying hello to you all. For today, I'm going to share with you all my experience with my cousin last Saturday morning. The weather's been so hot lately here in our place, and so was my cousin's temper last weekend! So sit back and stay hydrated, Hivers, as you read about my Saturday experience with my grouchy cousin, Bea.


IMG_20240415_142720.jpg

a screenshot from one of my online classes

Last week was a long week for me because, despite not attending the physical classes on our campus, we are obliged to attend online classes. Online classes may seem to be more convenient compared to face-to-face classes because I don't need to wake up early and struggle with commuting, but the thing is, I really find it draining. Spending too much time in front of my cellphone screen seems to not suit me, but of 'course I need to cope with it. Also, I don't like online classes because they need an internet connection. The internet connection here at our place was quite poor, so there are really times I lagged. Nevertheless, I survived a whole week of online class sessions.

IMG_20240415_142958.jpg

a face you can't resist!

After a grueling week, I thought I finally got to relax on Saturday. However, that day, my mother asked me if I could help her baby sit my cousin, whom she's tasked with taking care of. I wanted to refuse, but after I heard the reason why she needed assistance, I agreed. I can't say I have no choice because I know I can refuse, but I know if I refuse, my conscience won't let me relax. That decision led me to experience a Saturday morning of taking care of my grumpy cousin.


SATURDAY A RELAX DAY?

Obviously, I didn't wake up early last Saturday because I knew I didn't have online classes that day. That made me feel relief because, after a draining week, I thought I was finally free. But as I shared earlier, my mother asked me if I could help her baby sit my cousin, and since I'm writing an experience about it, obviously I agreed to it. After I took a bath, cooked my breakfast, and ate it, I immediately went to our cousin's house. I thought she'd already been asleep at that time, but unfortunately she's still up.

IMG_20240415_143132.jpg

obviously sleepy

I tried to put her to sleep, but she stayed awake for a few more minutes because she was distracted by her other cousin's presence, Kenshen. Kenshen stayed for a few more moments, then left when we turned off the TV. She eventually fell asleep when Kenshen went back to their house. While she was asleep, I did my personal activities, and just after two hours of sleeping, she woke up again while crying loudly. The moment she saw me, she started bawling louder. It's been awhile since I babysat her, so I guess she started to recognize our faces.

IMG_20240415_143048.jpg

still quite red-nosed due to the heavy bawling she did

Seeing an unfamiliar face must have scared her, especially in her grouchy newly awoke state. My mother consoled her by carrying her up and hugging her lightly. She of 'course recognized my mother, so she stopped bawling. Unable to take care of her at that moment, I just mixed milk for her. My mother has other chores to do; that's why I attempted again to get close to her. At first, she's quite grumpy, but after a few more minutes, she got comfy with me.

IMG_20240415_143229.jpg

she's now pretty comfy ♡

I put her in my lap while she played my tumbler and inspected her sister's notebook. By the way, she really likes paper, but it's really important to always look after her closely while she's playing with it because she usually rips it and puts the paper inside her mouth. She's really curious, and whenever she sees something new in her eyes, she puts it inside her mouth. That's the reason why we really clear out her crib with anything that she can put in her mouth. Also, once you catch her putting something in her mouth and you immediately get it, she really throws a tantrum, and after that, she'll start bawling, so I guess prevention is better than cure.

IMG_20240415_143459.jpg

CAUTION: Beware of the notebook!

After a few minutes of playing with my tumbler and the notebook, she got bored with them, so I brought her later to their veranda. She really likes gazing at the plants outside, and when I felt it was getting hot outside, we went inside again. This time, my arm is quite tired of carrying her, so I put her back in her crib. To prevent her from bawling again, I immediately turn on the TV. so that she'll be preoccupied watching it.

IMG_20240415_143421.jpg

she's watching the weird funny chicken song!

Her mother would be home at noon, so I started gathering my stuff. I just prepared them so that it will be easy for me to go home when my mother is finished doing the housework. It was almost twelve when she finished them, and after that, I got my stuff and bid my goodbye to my cute yet grouchy cousin. She's somehow distracted with the TV show, but she looks at me when I say goodbye to her. Thankfully, my babysitting hours with her are over, and finally I can relax!

IMG_20240415_143530.jpg

still distracted


SATURDAY TAKEAWAYS

IMG_20240415_143620.jpg

Babysitting a child, especially a child like my cousin, is really a handful. Not that I'm complaining, but I just can't really imagine myself babysitting her for straight days. Her temper was really unpredictable because there are times that she acts adorable, then okay, and then later she'll suddenly start bawling for even small reasons. I can't fully understand children, despite undergoing that stage. As a child back then, I can say that I'm not a normal one because, even way back then, I tend to distance myself from other children. There are times that I play with other children, but I can't fully say that I really interact with them during that period. So that's why I can't fully relate to children, especially the outgoing ones.

IMG_20240415_143640.jpg

kenshen dear ♡

Although I find it hard to relate to them, I still find a way to understand them. According to my experiences in handling children, the key to gaining their trust is to be really persistent in engaging with them. You must show a genuine interest in what they do. They usually open up when they feel that you understand and appreciate them. As for toddlers, you really need to have a lot of patience when dealing with them. With my babysitting experiences, both with Bea and Kenshen (way back when she's still a toddler or baby), patience is essential when I'm with them.

IMG_20240415_152438.jpg

You must not really give up when you feel agitated by their tantrums and negative behaviors, because I really believe that they are somehow able to empathize with your feelings. If you genuinely want the best for the child, I believe that he or she will understand that. Just like what happened last weekend, even though Bea didn't recognize me that well, she later stopped bawling because I believe she was able to sense I didn't mean any harm to her. Like dealing children, I believe that in life we also need to be persistent. Life can be like a child with a tantrum, hard and complicated to understand, but as I said, let's be persistent in dealing with them because eventually life will be kinder to us if we know how to persevere and to never give up.

Copy of Blog First Page.png

Before ending this blog, I'll just want to share a quote from my previous class saint, Saint Francis of Sales, which says that: "When you encounter difficulties and contradictions, do not try to break them, but bend them with gentleness and time". So like him, as we move to face the problems in our lives, let's not break them ferociously, but rather let's bend them with gentleness, for through that we'll be able to experience a much more fulfilling life ahead. That's all for now, Hivers!

Arigatou!

Mata ne~

Note: The first and last pictures were edited in Canva, while the other pictures were taken from my own gallery.

—ridgette

Sort:  

I observed Ma'am @ridgette that you are good in dealing children.

luh thanks for the compliment maam @diamondinthesky (⁠´⁠∩⁠。⁠•⁠ ⁠ᵕ⁠ ⁠•⁠。⁠∩⁠`⁠)...

It is true that we have to watch kids closely but they can do anything at any time. and i think kids are really enjoyable too.

Babysitting is indeed enjoyable and also tiring at the same time, especially if you're babysitting an energetic and hot-tempered child. Btw, thanks for stopping by @inshalicious.

Cute kaayo oii, i also like babysitting kids @ridgette cute kaayo gud

cute gud yor pero saputon tawn kaayo ahahaha...btw, thanks for stopping by @queeniemary!

It is a beauty, what a tenderness, super cute publication.

She's indeed cute! Thanks for the compliment @charlemio.

Babysitting and taking a child is so stressful, I can relate. However, it also made your heart so happy after playing with them. You really need to have a lot of patience.

Yes @digdeeper2, taking care of children is really stressful yet rewarding afterwards. Btw, thanks for stopping by.

Cutie little baby 😍🥰

Thank you @angelicaura. Btw, thanks for stopping by.