Every House Needs A Grandmother: A Tribute to My Grandmother's 70th Birthday

in Family & Friends2 months ago

1.png

Konnichiwa Hivers! It's your ridgette again. Today, I just want to ask you something: have you ever experienced being cared for by your grandmother? Wasn't it wonderful and memorable? Well, grandmother's care is really something, and that's why, for today, I'm going to share to all of you my tribute blog for her 70th birthday. She really played an important role in molding me into who I am today. Her contributions to my growth as an individual are certainly irreplaceable, and I think no amount of material things will be enough to repay those contributions.


IMG_20240305_142211.jpg

A grandmother is a little bit parent, a little bit teacher, and a little bit best friend.”
—Unknown

My grandmother is one of the few people that I really trust. Unlike the typical grandmother, who usually bends to the whims of her grandchildren, she's really strict with us. I always got reprimanded by her before because I'm really a mischievous kid. I usually play with boys because I'm kind of boyish. She always scolded me because I climb trees and I play with deadly spiders. I somehow got irritated by her because she always scolded me, but now I realize that she did that because she's concerned with me.

IMG_20240305_145300.jpg

I don't really like her because she has always scolded me, so of 'course we weren't close before, but this changed when my aunt left the house for work. My grandmother became lonely, so my mother decided that I should join her every night. On those nights, she shared her memories of her youth. I discovered that she comes from a big family, and she's the eldest. She wasn't able to finish her studies because she needed to work so that she could help her parents sustain her siblings.

IMG_20240305_145322.jpg

Even at the young age of twelve, she's already working, and that made me admire her. With those constant nighttime conversations, I somehow get to discover and know who she is. Little by little, I became closer with her, and even though I'm not sleeping in her house anymore, we still have that close connection. The fact that I still find time to talk to her about random things somehow maintains my close relationship with her. Certainly, even simple things, such as random conversations with her, matter.

IMG_20240305_145447.jpg

Also, for today, I want to share these haiku that I've made for her. By the way, for those who aren't familiar with haiku, it is a Japanese poetic form that consists of three lines, with five syllables in the first line, seven in the second, and five in the third. These haiku that I've made were really simple, but I'm glad that she somehow appreciated them together with my simple gift for her. These may not be the perfect literary pieces, but I'm certain that they came genuinely from me, containing all my gratitude and love for her.


Fraulein

IMG_20240305_145507.jpg

Everytime you sing
A longing in you was lit
Nostalgia did fit

Wildflower

IMG_20240305_145520.jpg

You were a flower
That bloomed in a barren land
You were never bland

Sunshine

IMG_20240305_145531.jpg

You're so beautiful
Your own smiles glow radiantly
You shined so brightly

Cowed

IMG_20240305_145545.jpg

You were never proud
But you never let others
make you feel you're cowed

Dreams

IMG_20240305_145611.jpg

For years you've waited
So your dreams may be sated
Patience was worth it

Loneliness

IMG_20240305_145631.jpg

Loneliness that grows
The stark emptiness of night
Creeping in your heart

Thank You

IMG_20240305_145657.jpg

Words are not enough
To express my gratitude
My dear grandmother


The Celebration

2.png

So during that day, we have classes, so after my class, I just hurriedly went to the shopping mall to buy her a gift. When I got home, I immediately wrapped my birthday present for her. I was quite nervous because I wasn't certain if the sandals that I bought for her would fit her. When evening came, we gathered in her house to greet her and celebrate her birthday. Her birthday celebration was simple; we just sang happy birthday to her, then ate together in her house.

3.png

Although it was simple, I really saw the happiness in her eyes when she saw her children and grandchildren together. My young cousins were really all energetic, and they're competing over who gave my grandmother the best gift. They're really super energetic at that time, and when it's time to sing happy birthday for my grandmother, they compete on who's the one who sang the most loud. Even though they're noisy, I'm entertained by their antics and banter. Indeed, that day was memorable because, even though it wasn't a grand celebration, her children and grandchildren were all there to celebrate with her. It was something that a lavish celebration couldn't compare to.


IMG_20240305_162449.jpg

Every house needs a grandmother in it.”
—Louisa May Alcott

Grandmothers are indeed valuable members of the family. We often overlooked them because most of them are already forgetful, and most of them talk in a rather dragging manner to the point that we've become bored with their topic. I've experienced that because I have talked with my grandmother many times. There were really times that she forgot that she had just repeated what she said minutes ago, so of course that lengthened our conversation. Not that I'm complaining, but there are really times that I get irritated by her incessant reminders. She usually reminds me of a lot of things, and her reminders somehow irritate me, especially if I'm in a bad mood.

IMG_20240305_162407.jpg

Despite those times, I'm still really grateful to her. I know she's been lonely since my grandfather passed away, and I can't fathom the grief that she experienced during that time. With most of her children married, it's really natural for her to get lonely. That's why me and my siblings really find time to bond and talk with her. Time is a valuable thing, and I think that's the only irreplaceable thing that I can give to her.

IMG_20240223_175607.jpg

That's all for now, Hivers! See you next time for my next blog, and always remember to love and value your grand mothers.

Sort:  

Happy birthday grandma, I wish you long life and prosperity

Thanks for the nice greetings @patience2 •⁠ ⁠ᵕ⁠ ⁠•.

You are welcome

Happy birthday grandmother

Thank you for the greetings @flourishandflora (⁠灬⁠º⁠‿⁠º⁠灬⁠).

Truly, grandmothers are incredible. I share the same feeling that you have, because when I was little, I was calm and that's why they didn't scold me much, jajajajaj.

Indeed they're incredible @deividleon, unlike you I was always scolded tho ◝⁠(⁠⁰⁠▿⁠⁰⁠)⁠◜ because I'm really a brat back then.

Felicidades 💐💐💐

Thank you (⁠◍⁠•⁠ᴗ⁠•⁠◍)ノ⁠♡ @motica29 !

Happy birthday, grandmother! Grandmothers are such a blessing for all of us.

They are really blessings to us @gabrielatravels, I can't imagine my childhood without her (⁠◡⁠ ⁠ω⁠ ⁠◡⁠).

Happy birthday grandma wish you long life and prosperity

It's greatly appreciated @ashiru, thank you (⁠ ⁠◜⁠‿⁠◝⁠ ⁠)⁠♡.

This is so sweet! Grandma is always the best! The soul of the house, the guide for the little children, the best chef ever! So many wonderful things

I really saw the happiness in her eyes when she saw her children and grandchildren together

I can imagine that.

What a beautiful tribute. Thanks a los for sharing it with us!

Thank you @belug, grandmothers are really the best! They guide us to become the better versions of ourselves...

Nice to read the strong bond between you and your grandmother

Thank you @shamis, bonding time with my grandmother are indeed one of the times I treasure.

Happy birthday to your grandmother, I could sense from your post that she has a special place in your heart!

Thank you @creativemary, indeed she's one of the special people who has a certain place in my heart (⁠ ⁠ꈍ⁠ᴗ⁠ꈍ⁠).