We're Incomplete, but We Celebrated Christmas with a Grateful Heart

Complete or not, the Christmas celebration should be fun and full of love for whomever you're with and for whatever foods are on your table. I hope everyone had a merry, merry Christmas. Cheers to this awesome celebration (◠‿◕).

Image Edited in Canva

What I expected to happen on Christmas Day didn't happen, which is what I really look forward to. My brother and his family couldn't make it that day, they are still in Batangas and celebrate Christmas there, away from their kids too. This is really sad. I saw a post on Facebook about a long line of people who's planning to have a vacation in Mindoro, and after seeing that, I thought maybe that was also one of the reasons why they couldn't make it home.

It's understandable though, even I will back down if I see that long line of people, lol, and yeah, no matter how badly I want to get home. Especially if I only have 2 to 3 days to spend at home, and it will be less because of a day spent just so I could get a ticket to travel to my destination - just for practicality sake too. I'm not sure if they can visit us on New Year's, but it will be less likely. As of now, Mama is stranded on Roxas Pier.

She wants to spend her vacation in her hometown. And if ever my brothers visit home, they won't see Mama, and it is just me and my oldies. But I hope they still take time to visit us, even if Mama is not present. The oldies will be very happy to greet and kiss their granddaughters and son on New Year.

IMG_20231226_152139.jpg

Anyhow, even though the exciting celebration with my brother and his family didn't happen because they couldn't make it home, we still celebrate it with a happy heart with us four, my Mama, Mommy F, Mommy D, and Aunt Velyn. I am really grateful for that day, even though I couldn't see my nieces, which is what I expected to happen on Christmas Day, and also one of the reasons why I want to have a cake on our table, because despite that, we really had a great time, even if it's just us. We enjoy the foods, especially the cake (人 •͈ᴗ•͈).

IMG_20231226_152411.jpg

We didn't prepare that much, though, just enough food for a few people. And Mommy D couldn't really make a lot because of her eyes. Before, all I did was peel, cut, and prepare all the ingredients, but that day, I was the one who cooked, but with Mommy D guiding me. She's also the one who seasoned it, after all, she can just throw in all the seasonings without her eyes being affected.

IMG_20231226_152512.jpg

And, because we've been eating meat in the past month, we took advantage of the low price of pork before that, we often bought it, and now we're already sick of it. And they are much higher now in price, so for the dish we prepared, we focused more on having vegetables than meat. In fact, we only had 1 kilo of chicken meat, and the rest was vegetables, which is what we really wanted during that time. Although they are kind of expensive, we still get them because it's a special day anyway.

And here's the cake that I promise to get for Christmas. There's a slight change, though, because instead of a cake in a cup, I just bought a whole cake. The flavor is choco forest, and I just love this flavor. Not just me, actually, because even my family loves it, lol— specifically, Mommy D. Well, she really loves chocolates, so anything in chocolate flavor will be appreciated by her. Only if it is made from a real chocolate, just like this one.

It's really chocolatey, which we really love. But after eating a lot of this, I immediately felt my throat getting sticky. What I did was gargle with salt water and thank heaven because I stopped it from getting worse. Why do those sweet foods taste so good that even if they're bad for my throat, I can't help but eat a lot of them? Haha, happy now, suffer later.

And here's our happy table on Christmas Day. And by the way, we also have this rice cake, which was made by Aunt Velyn, it has cheese on top, and it tastes really good. I enjoyed it with coffee this morning. Yeah, we still have leftovers, even the cake. I tell you guys, chocolatey cake is also good with coffee. I feel like I made a new discovery, but I know this is just normal to some in another country. Well, we don't do that because it's not like a cake is not expensive, lol. This is a first to me and I love it. And we really ate a lot of cake until today to our heart contents. I'll order this again on New Year's, that's for sure! └|∵|┐♪.

And let me also share my selfie with these free balloons I got when I bought this cake. I'm really grateful because I got it for free hehehe (✿ ♡‿♡). And, by the way, my Mama and my Oldies actually asked me why there's a cake and it's not our birthday anyway. But I also asked Mama a question, "Ma, do you remember having a cake in our table during christmas day?" And she said she can't remember anymore, lol. And so I replied, now we have this sweet memory of having a cake on our table (✿ ♡‿♡).

20220714_175943_0000-removebg-preview.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @ruffatotmeee! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 8750 replies.
Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

It's the Christmas season: give your friends a gift

Ohooo, another one. Thank You so very much for the updateeuuu └|∵|┐♪

You're welcome @ruffatotmeee, it's well deserved! Congrats on your constant involvement on Hive 😊👍🌹

It seems you had the time of your lives yesterday with loved ones. May that joy and happiness continue into the next year. Happy holidays and a prosperous new year in advance.

Yeah, as in, it's s fun and sweet celebration hehe. Happy Nee Year in advance └|∵|┐♪

Glad you had a lovely Christmas day even if some important people were missing - I was also sad to not have my one son with us - but at least today with cellphones we can still connect with loved ones

Right? Thanks to the existence of our gadget thst we can still see them or talk to them no matter how far they are to us ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

Makes me wonder how we ever managed before? It's so good to now be able to speak to our loved ones and see their faces

Right, it's just hard to do that before. You can't even receive them on time lioe when eith our gadgets.

Merry christmas. Mas masaya talaga pag kasama ang pamilya pero at least masaya pa rin with all the foods and cake. Sarap naman

Hehehe tunay yan, bawi nalang sa next uwu.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @qurator and @brumest ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

Merry Christmas @ruffatotmeee

Merry Christmas ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ may tira paba sa handa nyo dysn uwu. Pashare ba haha

Alak na lang eh eto catch. Haha

nice day! we like to spend this day together with a family too

Hehe, it's a special day so it'll be awesome to spend it with them right.

It really hits different pag kasama mo yong pamilya mong mag paskoo! Mas masayaaaaa. Anw, Merry Christmas!

Yah, chrueee yan, pero di man nakasama now, marami pa namang darating na pasko so okie lang ehe. Happy Nee Year na agad agad

Wow sarap naman ng foodangs.
Merry Christmas sis!

Hehehe, may susunod na celebration pa uwu. MERRY CHRISTMAS ฅ^•ﻌ•^ฅ

Happy holiday @ruffatotmeee. Love the chocolate forest cake 🎂🎄

Happy Holiday (人 •͈ᴗ•͈)

Christmas hits differently now Ate, this year I also lost my mom, so it's so hard to celebrate again, but I'm still grateful for all the blessings and the people that surround me.