YESTERDAY I VISITED MY COUSIN AND I END UP MEETING MY FRIEND.

in Family & Friends10 days ago (edited)

Yesterday, after my digital marketing class, I came down to the road to board a tricycle home. It was a sunny day, so the road was dry. Fortunately for me, my cousin drove by with his tricycle. I hopped in, and we started discussing. He narrated to me his experience while working at night, about how he encountered a drunk couple making out in the middle of the road. As he tried to horn them out of the road, they aggressively tore his clothes, and he left without a fight after noticing that they were under the influence of alcohol.

InShot_20240407_094222780.jpg
THE SUN IS ACTUALLY DEALING WITH ME

After I got to my destination, he dropped me off. He didn't want me to pay because we are family, but I insisted on him taking the money. So, he tipped me off that his sister, who is married and living in Lagos, is back with her two kids for the burial of our aunt. I was happy and promised to visit right away. I went into my room, then to the kitchen, and prepared lunch. After eating, I took a nap and headed out. Upon reaching the gate, I remembered how the sun had affected my mood, and it seemed logical that it would rain before I got back. It turned out that my prediction was right, but it actually came with a strong wind.

I finally got to my cousin's house, and to my surprise, I saw my male cousin named Richard. I wasn't actually expecting to see him because he has ghosted me for quite some time now, but we're still family. So, I first went in and greeted my aunt, then saluted my female cousin who was discussing with a guest. I gave them some space and went back to Richard, my male cousin, who was playing with both of his sister's kids. I sat down on the bench. It was actually awkward, considering the months that passed without communication. It took us a few minutes before we started talking and catching up. It was super awkward.

FB_IMG_1713862450814.jpg
MY COUSIN SISTER KIDS

FB_IMG_1713862402549.jpg
RICHARD COUSIN

We talked about a lot of things—work, relationships, both important and unimportant matters. We used to be the three musketeers, so I called our other friend on the phone. It had been a long time since we spoke. As he picked up the phone, still greeting, Richard took the phone from me. While he was still talking, my female cousin came out. Upon noticing who was on the phone, she took it from him. So, Kalu decided to come. After that moment, my other female cousin came back. She was happy to see me but called me a fake brother. It's actually my fault we don't talk much.

FB_IMG_1713862485509.jpg
KALU FRIEND

FB_IMG_1713862583382.jpg
MY COUSIN SISTER

My other female cousin who arrived later decided to turn on the generator, so we all sat in a circle. We made jokes, argued, laughed, and ate from a big bowl until it got late and the clouds started forming for the rain. We all headed out laughing and talking loudly on the street. Two of my cousin's sisters walked back home, leaving just the three musketeers. We started walking down the road, trying to find a tricycle. The rain started falling, and since we were walking together, I didn't bother to open the umbrella until we reached our road. However, the wind didn't allow me to use the umbrella, so I ran home. Upon getting home, I was completely drenched. Normally, I should be shivering, but because of the alcohol, my body was warmed up.

I actually had a bad day, but that evening brightened my day. I just felt happy and hopeful. I didn't actually have a chance to take pictures because it was late, and I don't have a good camera for the sundown.