Jesus, the same God

in HeartChurch4 years ago

When I was newly converted to the Lord, I had a great doubt if Jesus was simply the son of God or was God himself.

For a time I had this great confusion and I asked the pastors a lot to clarify this question. He had the same confusion as Philip when he asked the Lord:

8 Philip said to him: Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us. 9 Jesus said to him: Have I been with you so long, and you have not known me, Philip? He who has seen me has seen the Father; How, then, do you say: Show us the Father? John 14: 8-9 King James Version (KJV)



Imagen source

Philip asked Jesus to show him the Father, and Jesus' response was quick, saying, “Have I been with you for so long, and you haven't met me, Philip? He who has seen me has seen the Father ”.

Jesus himself also identifies himself as the Father. This generated much confusion among the Jews, who accused Jesus of "Blasphemy" by also claiming to be called the Father.

This confusion can be resolved by quoting the words of the prophet Isaiah when he spoke about the birth of the Messiah:

** 6 For a child is born to us, a son is given to us, and the principality on his shoulder; and his name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace. Isaiah 9: 6 King James Version (KJV) **

Observe, that the prophet Isaiah already declared that the Messiah was "Mighty God and Eternal Father." This is one of the many reasons why Jesus also showed himself as God himself.

Whenever I read this passage from Isaiah, I can understand that Jesus is the same God made flesh. Consequently, Jesus is the same Father, therefore, the one who had seen Jesus had also seen the Father in the humanity of Jesus.

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.biblehub.com/john/14-9.htm