Fountains Abbey - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

5oflhd.jpg

Good evening Hiveworld and back with another hit of Lightpainting goodness. This time from a beautiful place called Fountains Abbey in Yorkshire UK.


Every year this incredible place gets opened up after dark and you can visit to walk around the ruins and grounds to take in the atmosphere. You can only imagine the history involved with such a place and I would love to have seen it in its former glory.


There is an incredible vaulted room which unfortunately gets filled with people and stops me from getting the shots I would like but there are plenty of quite areas to get the creative juices flowing. Here are a few more from my various visits with @fastchrisuk over the years.


xz7qa1.jpg

Not a massive fan of mono light painting, I love the vibrant colours too much. After having a mess about with my previous post I decided I wasn't a fan of the red walls as it detracted from the beauty of the stonemasonry. I feel a mono conversion really shows off the fine craftsmanship and a sizeable crop brings more of the fine details out.
I hope to return here on Saturday to give this room the attention it deserves as when this was shot, time was not on our side.

nxuzl7.jpg

A great night out at Fountains Abbey with Chris and Neil this evening.
When I arrived Chris and Neil were mid shot so I took myself off to a dark place I remembered from last year. I'd brought my wellies this time as a stream runs through it. I had an idea to expose the tunnel scene and then cap the lens pack up and find a suitable and ornate door or window to fame it all. I wondered about for a while and found this 3 arched wall and blind framed it. Cap off and let the arches burn in for a couple of seconds.
When I first arrived at the tunnel I set up the camera and had to walk 20 or so meters into the tunnel. There was a recess in the ceiling where a pigeon was nesting for the night. He flew out and straight into my flash stand which I was holding. On my return home I am pleased to find that my trousers didn't need changing. I can't believe I didn't actually shit myself. I've just about calmed back down again.
Back here again in a couple of weeks and looking forward to it already.

1tv7hl.jpg

A small section of ruins that sit behind the main Abbey which I spent a large chunk of last night at. Not too many people mooching about. This is a sizeable crop which has had me thinking more about composition. I have about 5 shots from the same pov and I need to start mixing it up a little to get the most from my evenings faffing.
Lit behind the pillar with my Yongnuo on full power gelled blue. Span my orb and then lit the column with my torch.
Straight out the camera bar a massive crop.

5y7r5x.jpg

My all time fave lp shot is led Eddie's double with the tunnel and a tree, when I first set eyes on it, it made my head hurt whilst staring in awe. Cheers for the inspiration buddy.
Last night at Fountains Abbey I found this tree which was reasonably solitary so headed off to the tunnel. Lots of faffing to get me in the right place in the frame. Fired the shutter fired the flash and cap on. Walked to the tree, blind framed it and rotated the cam 180. Lit with the lenser, a couple of full power pops of flash from behind and let the ambient do the rest. Close but no cigar and no try again as if you move you lose where tunnels are concerened :)
I will be exploring this idea again but with better prep and two tripods.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

Despite all the people milling around and the rush we always found ourselves in to get shots in before it closed, you've managed to bag some belters. The rotation shot needs another trip out...

 4 years ago  

That was my thought exactly mate. I'll need a tripod minder 😂😂

Nicee :)))

 4 years ago  

Cheers mate.

Congratulations @fadetoblack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!