Laced Up - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.5078333360626288.jpg

Good evening Hiveworld and I hope all is well with you and yours.

This weekend I spent a few glorious days camping in the Peak District with Phill F, James Mills, Paul from Lace and Tom H.
The title Image is from the last night where Paul and I explored a leafy pathway just off the Monsal trail. Inspired by the green's and gold's of autumn I knew my colour combination. Shot using the LACE backlight scanner, LP Brushes filters, universal connectors and my favourite Ryus lightworks torch.


Ribbon of Light

img_0.28275555351427156.jpg

This was one I shot on the first night in Bolehill quarry. We parked above Padley Gorge and made our way in the darkness across the river and up towards Surprise View. Once we met the fence we followed it down to the gate. The gates were being guarded by three strangely dressed men listening to even stranger music. It sounded like Pagan Techno and I have a suspicion they had been foraging for mushrooms all day and had eaten a few :)

Once in the quarry we all got our cameras out and started creating. Bolehill is a magical place during the day but at night it takes on an almost mythical form. Watching the Silver Birch trees being illuminated from various angles was pure magic.

I created this one by finding a pleasing composition and walking through the frame with my Pala/Lace backlight scanner. This time I messed up and was left with a sizeable light trail but on reflection I quite like the ribbon of light.


I'm really hoping that the longer nights give me the impetus the get out more and to fall back in love with LP again.


Great weekend in top company and looking forward to seeing everyone else's stuff.

Happy days


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!

You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

Let's get out there into the night. Fantastic work again ;-)
Loving it!

 3 years ago  

Thanks very much. I'm preparing my re-entry to the world of night photography :) 👊👊

Nice shots! Loving the autumnal vibe of the first one. The birch tree composition is lovely. Sounds like an excellent weekend!

 3 years ago  

Thanks Cath. Bolehill quarry is a such a beautiful spot and with so many very individual trees. Worth a wander if you are ever in the area.

It looks great. I will add it to my list of places to visit!

 3 years ago  

If you ever make it to Bolehill quarry Padley Gorge borders it and it is arguably even better. The Sessile oak trees there look like they have stood for ever. Great area for photography.

I'm sure I've seen photographs of the oak trees that you mention. They're all twisted and gnarly and ancient and look incredible. What an amazing place it must be. Put me there with my camera on a misty morning, and I would be in heaven! :)

 3 years ago  

That's the one. It's a magical place and a spot of mist would be Nirvana :)

 3 years ago  

Tidy stuff pal, hopefully no mushrooms were consumed in the making of these images 😵

 3 years ago  

Haha. That ship has sailed. Once was enough for me 🤩🤩Cheers pal.