Slightly Odd Optical Convergence - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.7413713861741148.jpg

____

Good afternoon Hiveworld and I hope you are all well and keeping safe. I'm very well thanks for asking. Work is less stressful, I'm no longer doing a 365 project and I'm enjoying some down time with the family.


Here is a shot from the back end of last years 366 project which I created in my kitchen.

Currently unable to get out due to covid, I had to turn to one of my old shots displayed on my phone screen for the tunnel element in this shot.


Macro tubes seated on the camera and exposed the tunnel element for 1 second before replacing the lens cap. Next up I moved to tripod 2 where I had the insides of an old computer set up to fill the frame. I lit this from behind with s bright torch and from either side using the www.lightpaintingbrushes.com orange and blue filter attachments.

All shot in complete darkness during a single long exposure using a funky custom white balance. I find using a cwb helps merge the two elements together better even when I'm not using my phone screen for one of the elements.


img_0.8351875512626694.jpg


Here is the original shot which I think I've posted before but here is a write up of how I created this one....

Proper cool night out tonight with Rob H and a visit to a new tunnel, which is prime light painting real estate. It's dark in the day. We made friends with a newt and we both got shots we were really happy with.

What more could you ask for?

Refractograph set up after framing Rob and the tunnel. Positioned and sized to give some sense of reality.

I fired the shutter and let the refractograph element burn in for 10 seconds. Lens swap to the Pentax 28mm then walked away from camera shining a torch gelled the same colour as the refracograph and back again. Then turning towards Rob I used the Palateth method of lighting the scene, as if the light form was illuminating Rob and creating a believable shadow.


This is one of my favourite ever shots. I think mainly down to the shadow on the right which looks like it's almost stooped over. Very creepy and that's just how I like it. I think the shadow also adds balance to the frame and provides the third element. I like three subjects in my shots.


Thanks for looking and I hope you like them. If any of this raises any questions then please feel free to drop me a line and I can expand a little further.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Original shot in the tunnel is dope!
I hope you'll be able to go out soon and resume your LP experiments 😉
Take care and stay safe buddy!!

 3 years ago  

Cheers buddy. So do I mate. I hope all is well with you fella and take it easy.

 3 years ago  

Lockdowns, curfews, nothing would stop me from doing LP. I stay optimistic : there's always a way 😉
Everything's fine here mate, I savour each day of the rest of my life.

Congratulations @fadetoblack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 7000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP