Subterranean Delights - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United2 years ago (edited)

img_0.6874735078489055.jpg

Good evening Hiveopolis and I hope life is good. I currently have nothing to grumble about in my life so I'm a happy chap. Long may it continue.

Tonight's post is an ode to my second favourite tunnel. This one is called Chee Tor Tunnel and lies near Miller's Dale on the Monsal Trail in the Peak District. At dusk the lights inside turn off and it becomes a massive weatherproof LP playground. There are rarely other people there and it's just the spot where I feel relaxed and in the mood for creating some long exposure magic.

The title image was created with my in mate Leon and was inspired by Mick. A very talented and creative fella from Australia. He did a zoom pull shot in a tunnel with a figure in it and I loved the frenetic energy it created. I thought I'd give it a try in Chee Tor and here it is. Constant light from behind the camera and zoom pulled the lens a number of times. This makes the tunnel walls streaky. Lights off, then I went behind Leon, back lit him with a bright torch and then got the net curtain out to bring the 🔥🔥 Fire 🔥🔥

img_0.0017073845441560106.jpg

This one was created on the same evening back in the good old days when my dome tool was in full working order. I'm kind of sad I don't have it any more and one day soon I shall resurrect it with some brand new addressable RGB lights. I started my spinning a dome, stepping back and spinning another and another. Leon rotated the camera 90 degrees and I repeated the dome element. I repeated this 4 times in all until the camera was back at a level position. Finished with the good old net curtain flames to separate the silhouette from the dark background.

img_0.6280406639012993.jpg

img_0.9679100429512455.jpg

img_0.9939663780668213.jpg

As you can see I got really into dome rotation for a while and used it wherever and whenever I could. The different textures, colours and chances to create leading lines is what makes me love them so much. One thing I'm not a fan of is carrying the tool itself. It's weighty and a little unweildy but always worth the pain in the bum getting it to the location.

Often times you don't even know I'm in a tunnel with these types of shot as it is the darkness I'm looking for. Dome rotation shots like this take a hell of a long exposure, so complete darkness is a must. I remember doing the first shot of the above 3 with Fast Chris and my first attempt was 26 minutes long. I messed up the settings and the resulting image was almost completely white. Chris being an awesome sport helped me for a further 26 minutes to bag the shot I was after. 52 minutes shooting to end up with one photograph....that's commitment. Cheers mate.

img_0.36241297989245463.jpg

This is my favourite image I have created in Chee Tor and not possible without Chris' help. Like most of our images it takes two to Tango as we pool tools, other resources and our ideas. Here we set up a softbox to illuminate me in my Parka. Ensuring no light spilt onto my face. This left a dark space where my face should be, ready for tripod number two and the double fire silhouettes. After the softbox fired Chris went behind me and placed fire behind my head, lens cap on, tripod and lens swap and I made my way to the first of two predetermined spots for Chris to back light me with the flames. It came out just as imagined first try and I love it. Has a Kenny out of South park vibe going on.

img_0.9132724072841126.jpg

I love this one as it gives a real sense of scale regarding this tunnel. It is massive and worked here as the perfect frame for my figure and the dazzling stars in the sky. Keeping it really simple here and I think it speaks for itself. Shot I believe of a cracking evening with Chris T and Darren H. Top times in top company.

img_0.06375120080932092.jpg

This last one isn't Lightpainting but a daytime shot from my first ever visit to this place. That is my neice running in the distance and I knew after seeing this shot that I would have to return after dark, with a bag full of lights and a head full of magic.

I hope you enjoyed following along, reading me rattling on about my adventures in the darkness. Cheers to all the folks who made it this far and to @fastchrisuk Leon D and Darren H for their input and company. It's always a pleasure to get out with such folks and I'm looking forward to getting out into the darkness once again.

Take care and catch you all next time for some more adventures.

Happy days.

img_0.33388282975403827.jpg

Small Orange Divider.png

WHAT IS LIGHTPAINTING?

Lightpainting is a photographic technique in which exposures are made by moving a hand-held light source while taking a long exposure photograph, either to illuminate a subject or to shine a point of light directly at the camera, or by moving the camera itself during exposure. Nothing is added or removed in post processing.

Single exposure Light Art Photography
/nolayer /notricks /nophotoshop

Divider 5.png

YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE LIGHTPAINTING HERE?


Give the Lightpainters United Community a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Lightpainter United Banner.png


You will find innovative and original light painting from various artists from all over the world. Have a look at the profiles of some very active Lightpainter in the group:

Mafu Fuma - Oddballgraphics - Fade to Black - DAWN - Chris Thompson - Mart Barras - Stefan Stepke - Nikolay Trebukhin - Leetodd - Stabeu Light - Maxime Pateau - Stephen Sampson - lightandlense - Neil Rushby - L.A.C.E.

Divider 1.png

WOULD YOU LIKE TO GET IN CONTACT WITH US?
Join us at Discord
Divider 5.png
Thank U for your support and keep shining!
LIGHT, LOVE & UNITY!

Sort:  

Impressive man, you're a source of inspiration 🙏🙏🙏

 2 years ago  

Cheers my man. Hope you're well buddy.

 2 years ago  

Aside from the Famous Furry Parka incident the third image here is probably a fave and needs to be repeated!

 2 years ago  

Cheers pal. Once the dome tool is back up and running we shall give it a go. I'll try not to leave the aperture wide open so we can get finished withing half an hour 🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

I'll book a week or so in my diary...

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

the 3rd one is me favorite as well. if not even ALLTIMEFAVORITE! but yes, I would also like to be the one in the parker. :-D Amazing set of Pictures! !discovery light

 2 years ago  

Cheers Mafu. May happy memories from this tunnel :). Happy days.

Very nice and funny pics, I love the first rotation with the domes and the double face face.

 2 years ago  

Cheers Marla. We revisited this tunnel last night to add more shots to our collection. We love it there :)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @fadetoblack.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Great set mate. My fav is the one with the parka.

 2 years ago  

Cheers Sven mate. Mine too.

"...a bag full of lights and a head full of magic." 🎇✨❇️🎇✨ :-D

 2 years ago  

Haha. It should by my mantra 🤣🤣