Tangled - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United4 years ago

img_0.0298470854783963.jpg

Morning world...It's Friday. Happy days.

I hope you are all well and that life is good.


Here's a shot from my second favourite woodland. Situated just off the Snake Pass in the Peak District and about half an hours drive from home. It's a dense pine forest which is pretty much dark during the day. At night it has a very moody demeanour and lends itself well to such shots.


Here I asked my friend Paulo to stand very still surrounded by the awesome trees which look to be closing in on him. I took a light writer with an orange gel and started snaking it from the trees and wrapping my mate in light as if the trees had a hold on him.

I then trailed all the lights out if the bottom of the frame as a nice leading line into the shot for the eye to follow.

Next I walked around the periphery of the frame cross lighting the trees and ground. Having a light source at right handles to the camera does a really great job of bringing out textures and adding some dynamic contrast to the scene. Always an important thing to think about when light painting.

I finished up with an acrylic rod and strobing torch which I span in a circle behind him to give his silhouette some background separation.


All shot during a single long exposure in complete darkness.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

I love this stuff man. All you lightpainters on here create some incredible imagery. Upvoted reblogged. Love it

 4 years ago  

Cheers for the kind words mate. We're all glad we found Hive and that people like your good self are enjoying our stuff. Happy days.

Wow nice

 4 years ago  

Thanks very much.