Waving Lights In The Dark - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.6540241417032029.jpg

Good evening Hiveworld. I hope your day has been a productive one and that life is good.

I thought I'd throw up some of my really early work back when I just went out and waved lights about in the dark. Minimal planning or artistic ideas, just the joy of being out with a free mind lighting up the darkness with a few home made tools and some good company.


Title Shot - Haduken.


Rgb dome tool, rgb light wand, WB tungsten, 187 seconds F11 and iso 100.
Etherow country park, Stockport.
Darkness.


img_0.5078506318803958.jpg

Back to the woods last night with Chris T. The rain finally cleared and we got a couple of hours lighting up and rotating in.
This one was fun to do. Chris' shutter open first and span my orb tool in three seperate spots whilst rotating his camera 360 degrees for each spot. Opened my shutter and lit the woods up. Chris lit me from behind with the light lawnmower for some silhouette action then closed Chris' shutter. Next did two spins of my orb tool during two 360 spins of my camera and finished off with an orb to fall within the outer loops.


img_0.11030958753091118.jpg

Another from the Roman Bridge in Marple. This time I span some wool on my cordless drill with whisk attachment. Then wafted the diy v24 about followed by some bridge lighting with my p7.2. Not so keen on the exposure as with my last post but it's not too bad.
The doughnut was done by making a circle with my hands whilst spinning the drill. I really like the phisiogram type effect. Going to explore this further as I think it would look wicked on a larger scale.
All straight out of the box.


img_0.30182044218330045.jpg

Got all of my lp tools out last night and incorporated them into this one. RGB orb tool, RGB light wand and DIY RGB torch. Single long exposure straight off the card.


img_0.3843153491404111.jpg

More Woodland waftery near Ladybower reservoir just off the Snake Pass. Shot using my Rgb orb tool, light wand and torch.
sooc.


I'd really like to revisit creating stuff like this as I think these have a certain raw charm about them, often lacking in some of my more polished work nowadays.

Fingers crossed we'll be able to play out again soon and Chris and I can get back out there and enjoy waving some lights about in the darkness once more.

Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

more great work. Loving the 3rd image

 3 years ago  

Cheers mate. It's a lovely old bridge which I'll have to revisit soon.

Once we've relocated back to the UK later this year this is something I'm going to take up. It's pretty cool stuff.

 3 years ago  

That's great to hear mate. It's a lot of fun but super addictive :)

 3 years ago  

I'm glad to see you made a trip together in the woods guys 😎 Happy days!

 3 years ago  

These were some of Chris and my first collabs back in the day. Happy days indeed :) Fingers crossed more to come soon.