Lightpainting the Gorge..

in Lightpainters United2 years ago

Saturday night we took a visit to Padley Gorge, a small area in the Peak District that seems to have its own micro climate, as the temperature dropped quite a bit once we got in there.

Admittedly you'd be hard pressed to find a more magical spot than the ravine that is Padley Gorge. Containing flowing streams and a waterfalls in a woodland setting full of oak and birch trees near the Longshaw Estate and Grindleford, Padley Gorge is photogenic and full of character.
The twisted shapes of the trees growing over the river are a perfect spot for photogenic shots both in the daytime, and magically more so at night.

So Saturday night we headed out to shoot.
I had an idea in mind which didn't fully come to fruition, but I'm happy with the shots I did get.

The first shot was taken on the bridge over the river. The wood is warped and twisted and narrow so naturally lends its leading perspective to a silhouette shot..

Padley Gorge 1.jpg

Unfortunately in the course of taking these first shots the Godox lights batteries ran out, but luckily I had the big XR21 torch with me which helped to produce the next shot. 10 seconds to expose for the silhouette, then lens cap on, torch off and let the red from the LED panels burn in for 30 seconds..

Padley Gorge 2.jpg

Credit to @fastchrisuk for the next shot (As well as his help with the others too) who did a panning shot as I stood in the darkness..

Padley Gorge 3.jpg

Below, and lifted from the visitpeakdistrict.com and letsgopeakdistrict websites, so not taken by me, are some pictures of Padley Gorge in the daytime, which admittedly I haven't seen in person..

download.jpg

download (2).jpg

IMG_0071-1024x766.jpg

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil

Sort:  

Glad I didn’t bump into you in the dark, as this would have freaked me out. It's lovely at Padley and your photos definitely give people a different take on it. They're brilliant.

 2 years ago  

Aww thank you very much for your kind words, and while we may not look it from the silhouette shots, we are lovely I promise 😉

I'm sure you are lol.

Great set of light paintings.