Rotating the Hood

in Lightpainters United2 years ago

I'm lucky that I live on the edge of Sherwood Forest in Nottinghamshire, famous for its association with Robin Hood and home of the Major Oak. Also we have a National Trust Park called Clumber Park on our doorstep too; we are spoilt for choice when it comes to woodland locations to shoot.

The below shot was taken in Sherwood one night, and was a pretty standard rotation shot. The hardest part was waiting for night and darkness to fall and then the long walk back in the dark by myself to the car! I was also concerned about letting off smoke pellets to highlight the torchlight too, but in hindsight it was the middle of no-where in the dark, so as safe as it could be from prying eyes.

The setup consisted of my LED Lenser X21 torch sat behing the tree shown, first with the ornage gel, then once exposed and rotated I switched this for the blue..

Rotation.jpg

Shown below are some recent images from the woods on the edge of Clumber Park. These were taken working with @fastchrisuk and include backlit silhouette images as well as a panning shot..

0(2).jpg

4(4).jpg

5(4).jpg

Woods 3(1).jpg

8(1).jpg

Woods 6(1).jpg

3(6).jpg

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

For more great Light Art Photography, Light Painting and inspiration check these light painters: @fastchrisuk @marlasinger666 @fadetoblack @dawnoner @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau @gunnarheilmann @maximepateau @ryuslightworks @lightstabeu

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil

Sort:  

Cool shots @neilru75 👌🏻, so cool to live by the Sherwood Forest with all the history with Robin Hood 😁❗️

 2 years ago  

Thank you, and yes we're very fortunate with some beautiful countryside all around us here 👍

Cracking shots

Great shots and write-up. Looks like a terrific location too. 😎

 2 years ago  

Thanks very much 😊

 2 years ago  

Amazing!

!discovery light

 2 years ago  

Thanks very much 😎

 2 years ago  

Can't beat a good woodland shoot and we're blessed living in Sherwood Forest amongst robbers and thieves who like nothing more than to kill and maim stalkers on the internet haha