The Defractal Spin..

in Lightpainters Unitedlast year

Last night @fastchrisuk and myself headed out to our local woods for a rather chilly but fun LP session.

It could have been a controversial start as Chris's light stick had been switched on in the car and the batteries had run out and then of the 4 RGB LED panels we had between us, only 1 would work! I mean I know it was Halloween recently, but man, that was spooky!

So we started doing some shots using Chris' new torch to light the background, and eventually we got to the below shot.
In an effort to do something different, I borrowed Chris defracter lens, curious of the effect of the torch lit trees, and after an initial shot, Chris had the idea to spin his orb tool behind me and the magic hit..

1.jpg

Now I've got my favourite shot in, rewind an hour or so to the start, and I rather liked this setup shot..

2.jpg

..this was backlit using the Godox flash, but continuing the spooky theme, there was no remote! So Chris, bless him, was up and down that hill manually firing it.

Next we experimented with backlighting and lighting the trees in the same shot. Probably standard stuff but this colour mix worked really nicely..

3.jpg

..and finally into the spotlight..

4.jpg

..all taken in one photographic exposure.

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil

Sort:  
 last year  

That spin behind is cool. Next time that’ll be the first thing to do then remove the filter……