"The Force is Strong in this One"

in Lightpainters United2 years ago

This past Saturday after deciding that the weather might not be conducive for a trip to Fountains Abbey, @fastchrisuk and myself headed out to Cadeby tunnel, a single track tunnel, 163 yards long, which reaches from Conisbrough and Cadeby.

On doing some quick research for this article, it would seem that the tunnel is haunted and many paranormal investigators have investigated the area. Apparently voices, bangs and footsteps have been heard in the tunnel as well as apparitions of walking figures, a policeman and the Mexborough Ragger! Unfortunately we didn't hear anything that I was aware of while there.

Below are some of the shots we took once we had traversed the muddy entrance and the stepping stone tyres. We began with some panning shots, and Chris had an idea that he wanted to evolve that looked like Sky hooks (Shown in his article under the username @fastchrisuk).

I really liked the shots but needed something different, so I had the idea of a Star wars style lightsaber shot. It's the same process, which I won't divulge, with a different stance and only 1 light source. I felt that the orange gel of the backlight and the green for the lightsaber worked well,.

Jedi.jpg

Below is the same shot in landscape. We used Chris' 20mm lens which was sharp enough to cut..

Jed 2i.jpg

Finally a standard silhouette shot with a starburst torch. This took some doing to get the torch beam just right, with many shots burnt out as the torch lit the smoke, or the torch itself was too subtle. I'd had an idea for the lighting, orange from behind and then RGB LED panels lit at the sides of the tunnel, but this proved too bright so Chris manually lit the tunnel with a single panel..

Cal 1.jpg

As a photographer I try to mix what I do in my shots, I've done still life, some macro work, lightpainting and I enjoy a good model shoot. If you'd like to check out any of my other work I'm on Facebook, or you can find me on Instagram under neilru75

Thanks very much for looking

Kind Regards, Neil