New Year Resolutions rarely work out

in ThoughtfulDailyPost2 years ago (edited)

Do you make New Year resolutions with the best of intentions to persevere but giving up very soon into January happens instead? I remember mine were fizzes sooner than later even though I was a regular at making resolutions.

Why don't they work? Because these resolutions are usually off the cuff decisions with little to no hope of succeeding. They rarely work out! For example, anyone who loves burgers and hates exercising decides as a New Year resolution to eat salads and jog everyday until they lose weight is bound to get hungry pretty quickly. That is when they err say what the heck one burger won't matter, but it is the beginning of the end with the salad diet and a downward slide back into the old eating habits and no jogging. Feeling disillusioned the diet is eagerly forgotten until the next New Year resolution time.

Is this a familiar scenario?

Being influenced by all the hype around New Year resolutions is very easy as it is everywhere, in magazines, on current affair shows and talked about by all your mates. It is the driving force to jotting down a few aspirations! What is there to lose so you give it a go.

But, I believe that changing one's behavioural eating and exercising habits effectively and long term, is best made with deliberation and acknowledgement of the need to get the assistance of such professionals as health nutritionists, medical doctors, personal trainers, hypnotists, Jenny Craig etc. There are plenty to choose from if you get serious at wanting to change.

Learning not to let the clock ticking from one year into the next to influence on the spur New Year resolutions is a rite of passage into age and wisdom. We all find out eventually they fizz out. While you may have made a couple of New Year resolutions already for 2022 I wish you luck in sticking to your plans.

new_note.jpeg

ooooooooooooOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo

7d164c0f_082b_461d_99ae_d51a49188971_4_5005_c.jpeg

ecc271f6_e973_4747_bc60_452edf6eba13_1_201_a.jpeg

women_empowering_one_another.jpeg

4c17922b_ba18_4654_a2e2_c96cdaae83d1.png

......................................................

Today is Sunday and a day which I spend playing a little game finding something especially beautifully sublime inspired by the tags #beautifulSunday and #sublimeSunday courtesy of @ace108 and @cOff33a.

Today, beautiful and sublime came in the form of raindrops hanging from leaves in my garden. The garden has had an immense amount of rain falling on it over the last few weeks, up to 300mls. I am sure the plants and shrubs hum when rain falls. The first photo is a droplet of water handing of a leave of the Blood Orange Grevillea.

new_note.jpeg

The next two photos are raindrops hanging from the leaves of the Apple Blossom shrub. The leaves seem to be just the right shape for droplets of water to hang from.

new_note.jpeg

8151e902_3c4a_40db_951a_80d235bb268d_1_105_c.jpeg

...............................................

88a2eaba_aba8_45d3_946a_695a8b78903c.png

Thank you @aldager for bringing the #amazingnature community to hive.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Bye and regards

img_3156.jpeg

Sort:  

New Year resolutions? I have a friend who told me once he made a new year resolution he never break. The new year resolution was to never have any new year resolution any more.

I am with you on that one. But I am guilty of deciding I can "laugh more, live more, love more and dance more" this year. There might be a few mores I missed out but I didn't want to overdo it.

I agree! I don't make New Year's resolutions as I make changes as needed. I cannot wait for the new year and if I am doing one, it is off the cuff to cover the square!

Hey! #alwyasaflower says hello! :)

Hello lovely Denise, I let the year unfold too trusting that everything will be as it is meant to be but always trying to make a difference, not settling for the mediocre. Life is one interesting adventure.
Lots of love, I am off to bed xx