A leaf study in nature

in ThoughtfulDailyPost2 years ago (edited)

In the last two years I rediscovered the power of nature. I started to enjoy having long walks in the woods and I slowly increased my time spent outdoors. Maybe my introvert personality makes me enjoy the silence and comfort of nature. I find it hard to adapt to the confines of a concrete flat where four walls make me feel trapped . I enjoy my home yet I feel it is against my nature to spend long time indoors. I have a strong feeling that I will eventually end up living in a hippie rustic home with a big yard , in a log cabin or in some sort of fancy tiny house or tree house.

Media_220930_095733.gif

I feel a strong connection with the natural world and I could easily spend hours reading, walking, hiking or drawing in the woods by myself. This thing called tranquility is addictive. I have also read that many people cured from depression by doing what I did in the last two years. So I suppose I subconsciously chosen to heal myself through the help of outdoor activities.

When it comes to drawing I decided to change things a little bit and try to study nature more. To try to paint God's creations is a difficult task. The colours of a simple leaf are a work of art , hard to imitate on paper. By trying to study nature I have gained a new respect for everything which surrounds us , like trees, flowers, stones and all of the natural world.

leafstudy4.jpg

leafstudy1.jpg

Studiu26.jpg

leafstudy2.jpg

leafstudy3.jpg

I picked a leaf from the ground and I was mesmerised. Autumn is a show of colours. I just felt awe and admiration. The most exquisite painter will have a hard time trying to bring to life what God has put on this Earth.

Leafstudiu.jpg

I took my pencil and started to sketch.

Leafstudiu7.jpg

Leafstudiu1.jpeg

Leafstudiu1.jpg

It is quite awesome to have a live model. I could just stare and pick all of the details of the leaf without having to stare into a screen.

I try to reduce my screen time and just Be connected with my creative self.

It was a beautiful day outside and I picked a secluded place to create. A small butterfly came to join, I was so happy.

Media_220930_095341.gif

I will continue to pursue drawing and painting inspired from nature as I feel it is something I should do more of.

Media_220930_100243.gif

Sort:  

You have such amazing talent. You’re art is marvelous and there’s so much life and passion in it. Truly, nature can heal 💕

Thank you very much🤗

This is so amazing my dear friend and I so agree that there is really a great power when we are close to nature. Your autumn leaf art is really so nice. How I wish I could experience like this but there is no autumn here in Ph. Have a nice time my friend.

Thank you🤗 Autumn is beautiful because of the marvelous show of colours. It comes with rain and chilly weather, which I like. I hope you will travel one day and experience autumn for yourself. Have a great day🌼

The pleasure is mine dear Mary. I hope so and looking forward for more travels and I hope I could witness a real autumn. Thank you so much my friend.

I agree, whenever that I'm depressed I always choose to walk the lathway down here since there's a forest there. It makes me feel calm everytime that I'm doing that, and I will sit down there for a while and let the hour passed until I feel that I feel good already, especially when you hear the sounds of birds and trees. Thatwas the most calming experience that I've ever had in my whole life

Beautiful! It is so cool that you decide to stay until you feel calm.
I observed myself in nature and when I notice that I walk too fast I stop and decide to slow down and truly notice the beauty around me. When I do not feel like returning back home I slow down even more. It is truly therapeutic🥰

Nature is indeed beautiful and powerful

Yes, for me it proved to be the best medicine and friend in times when I felt despair and hopelessness. This is why I am deeply connected with it and commited to spend enough time on a weekly basis in nature.

I find it hard to adapt to the confines of a concrete flat where four walls make me feel trapped

I have been this way ever since.

They say to study nature and you'll understand everything. I believe that to be true when you introspect and understand the reason why people do the things they do.

Beautiful drawing. The colours of autumn is warm and it's actually my favourite season. You do amazing art, and I am optimistic that you'll forever gain benefits from spending time outdoor.
Have a lovely day:)

Thank you very much🤗 I instantly see the benefits after my walks: I am calmer, happier, more in tune with myself and detached of daily concerns. It is like the entire worries fade away and I gain a new perspective over life. I realize the vast beeauty of the Universe and how tiny our issues truly are.
Autumn is gorgeous, I love the colors, the rain, the fog, the change of air.

This is absolutely amazing Mary! One of the things I love autumn for is the rich colors and this type of leaf is the best to show you why. When I see a leaf like that, the first thing I think of is how I would draw it on paper (as I can,t paint, nor can I draw but I'm trying 😂). So the main idea is how to use colors and shades to recreate it on paper or canvas. You did a great job!

Maybe I should give it a try myself 😏

Thank you girl🤗 Believe me when I say that I felt like a kid in the candy shop when trying to decide on a leaf to paint. All of them were gorgeous. I still think it will take me a while to be able to truly replicate them realistically on paper, the details in a leaf are mindblowing. In black and grey with dots would be easier, color realism is harder.
I have a secret desire to someday buy a microscope and be able to zoom in into the details of plants. 🥰🥰🤩

You can try to paint and see, it does not have to be perfect, just play around. It will relax you so much believe me

Dear @creativemary,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Beautiful work here! I didn't know you painted as well :)

Different creative mediums for different times, places and stages... and ways of making sense of and finding peace with the world.

Spending time in nature naturally regulates the nervous system, by the way. Which actually does physically heal it over time. So people coming back from depression or anxiety by doing this makes complete sense. Scientifically!

I believe the opposite to be true as well. That we suffer more from these reactions because of the manner in which we live nowadays and being surrounded by concrete and the buss of electricity all day.

It makes sense. Doesn't it?

Thank you🤗Nature does miracles for depressed people I have read about it too.
Concrete makes me feel sad, I think of those chicken kept together , crowded like sardines in farms. In some of the very small apartments some people might not be that far from the chickens. No wonder depression is high, living in this modern society is not all that wonderful for many people.

Good lord... I've literally just finished a video and said the exact same thing!

I think we may be kindred spirits...

I"m putting it up shortly :)