You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing Compares to You

How cool!!! Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina or Virginia? I wasn't sure which you meant. I was actually in the Shenandoah National Park, but, the Blue Ridge Parkway in Lynchburg, Virginia connects with one of the entrances from there. I entered the Front Royal entrance to the park and went the whole 106 miles down to Waynesboro, Virginia.

How fun it is when you are a kid and you go on these types of excursions! We did a lot of picnics when we were kids too and it seems to me that sort of thing has gone out of style, with Mommy working all the time. :( I think kids have a different bringing up than we did.

Especially when they are really young.

The park is so nice and they keep the AT trail very nice here. They are big on leaving no trace behind and to tell the truth, most hikers are religious about it. The bear was so cute and he was more afraid of me than I was of him. That just makes me smile. They are less timid with Covid being around and nobody at the park.

Anyway, I want to thank you for stopping by! I hope you get to bed at a decent hour. LOL

Sort:  

I rarely go to bed at a decent hour on the weekend. It's the only nights I can stay up till the wee hours if I want.... well.... unless I want to work while still sleepy.... yuck!

Yes... the Blue Ridge in NC. I don't know if we ever crossed into Virginia as of course I would not remember now and most times it was just a one day trip and took us a couple of hours just to get to the mountains themselves.

Back then, it was much more economical for Mom's to cook and pack a picnic when they had 5 little children (or even when it was only 4). I mean she cooked all the time anyway and it was not a big deal. Lots of times it included fried chicken and country ham biscuits, among other things of course. Not only that, back then, there weren't so many restaurants and the such along the way.

Good times.

I probably should go to bed because I keep hovering over a piece of someone else's art that is calling to me off of etsy. LOL.....

Run for your life! :)

It was in North Carolina. Virginia is too many hours from Charlotte for a nice day trip. I love the Blue Ridge in North Carolina and it is so darned pretty. I did a little bit of leafing down there too. It poured here tonight, so it better not have knocked my leaves off the trees. I am not done with them!

We had nine kids, so we never ate out. Even if the restaurants were few and far between, with 11 it was just not feasible. Even when we traveled, mom packed our lunch. It was fun and we thought of it as an adventure, but, then again, there was no expectation of eating out. My moms' food was way better anyway.

Fried chicken for sure and biscuits. Le sigh. I miss those days of not being responsible for anything.

I might just go and read tonight. I love reading and I try to end my night with it. Okay, truth be told, I cannot end my night without it. So it will be 2 am by the time I finish my shower, so good night. Sleep tight. ❤️

Good night ! Sweet dreams !

XOXO

Almost to bed. Lol

I thought you were in bed already... I was just sure I heard some snoring.

Haha! You might have, but, it wasn't me! I was still tending to #MarketFriday- although, I really will be running off pretty quick! I have a book to read!