You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inspire Me, Tell me do

Yes! Yes! I have heard recordings of his speeches. I will say that my great grandfather loved him and even in his nineties, would parrot him. Sometimes I feel like all the good men are gone, but, it is not true, I know it.

Perhaps the ones from yesterday were romanticized whereas today, not so much? I am not sure, but, I find myself longing for times that I am not even a part of, if only for the feeling of the moments.

My cat is such a purring furball, but, alas, I love her. :)

Sort:  

Perhaps the ones from yesterday were romanticized whereas today, not so much? I am not sure, but, I find myself longing for times that I am not even a part of, if only for the feeling of the moments.

Oh, I agree. People used to sound smart and intelligent. Now we have soundbites. Men used to have a room in the house they called a 'study.' Men today have a room in the house they call a 'mancave' and they grunt at the tv while watching football.

Oratory was a skill that used to be taught. We do not teach our children how to speak eloquently anymore. Poetry needs to be forced upon children and novels are either skipped, studied via Cliffnotes, or ingested by movie. I do not want to say that we're raising a society of miscreants, because that certainly isn't true (look at our advances in sciences and computing), but our communication skills and charismatic offerings are definitely not what they once were.