This demon called "mood swing"

IMG_2066.jpeg

Mood swing has to be one of mans greatest enemy. All of a sudden, you feel happy, then suddenly you feel deflated. In a moment, you feel like everything is working just perfectly, then it suddenly feels like you don't know what you're doing!

Oh dear!

There is this enthusiasm that everyone enters the new month with, and yes, it was the same case with Bola.

She came into the new month with her plans all laid out, her life all figured out, and the best way to maximize the remaining part of the year, before it rolls away.

But here is Bola, on the 5th day of the month, feeling weary, tired, disorganized and so unsure about a whole lot of things.

She wasn't happy, nor was she sad. Her friends kept asking her what the problem was, but how was she to answer when she doesn't even know why herself(or so she said).

Who is Bola?
Oh well, she is my next door neighbor. A very outspoken young lady, full of energy and vibes. But recently she has been keeping to herself unnecessary. Her smile that use to be so rich are now being forced, she no longer stay around for little chitchat! She is always running to her room to keep away from everyone. Her room has become her hiding place.

Well, since I couldn't leave her be, I had to intentionally put myself in her space. I started to intentionally engage her whenever I see her, make her wait a little bit to say hi to every other person in the flats.

She didn't appreciate it by the way, but then I didn't care, all I want is "Our Bola Back". Moreover, that is not who she is. Something is eating her up!

I practically persuaded her for a long time to tell me what was eating her up. Though she kept saying she doesn't know, but I know she knows, she is not just willing to admit it to me and every other person.
Finally she admitted that she saw a friend who was doing better in her spheres than her and even though she doesn't want to admit it, she felt jealous and feels like she is not doing anything with her life and it affected her so bad.

That is it!

This thing called mood swing! I do tell my friends, it doesn't just happen, there is a trigger somewhere! Something has triggered it, and most time, people who suffer from this tend to go into denial mode.

You will hearing stuffs like "I really can't say why I am sad"

"I'm not just happy right now, it is a phase, and it will go"

Ogbeni rest!😅

You know why jor😒!

And the earlier you tell yourself the truth, the better it it for you to deal with it fast, before it bears even greater seeds in you.

Anyways, I had to remind Bola that she is doing amazing well in her spheres also. Success means different things to different people at every point in time, and that until she comes to know what success means to her personally, she will continue to wallow in jealousy whenever she sees her friend doing better!

Until man define what they mean by "I want to be successful," they will continue to feel dissatisfied whenever someone is doing something better than them.

Sort:  

Congratulations @enioluwafe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023