Moving Beyond Comfort

png_20211115_062319_0000.png
I've been inconsistent with my interactions on hive for reasons which can't be written about. Most times, I am just who I am - crazily lazy or lazily crazy. Just weird! Some things can't really change no matter what because...

Baking cheese in an oven won't make them biscuits.
- McYusuf :)

At times, I feel it's a result of being stuck in a cycle of life that poses itself as a comfort zone for me. Having to go through the same things repeatedly makes it easier, but there's a resulting addiction which hinders other areas that requires improvement. As a matter of fact, I usually get to think less of things beyond my scope.

I had a recent discussion with a friend about moving out of my current residence. What prompted the lengthy talk was probably some random thoughts that kept popping up in my head. It was mostly because there's this feeling that...

If I don't get out of my comfort zone, I will never change and never improve.
- Ilkay Gundogan

It is a beautiful thing to have those areas of your life you feel familiar with and can control. But being there for too long can seriously throw a spoke in the wheel of necessary growths. This is probably why it is common to have people trying to step out of their boundaries and explore new lands.

As people say, humans are not meant to stay in one place. When you settle deeper into a particular thing, it becomes harder to get out of it. The chances to encounter opportunities doesn't come knocking on one's door. It takes braving new limits to find something rewarding.

20211115_053444_0000.png

Trying to bring about a substantial change in your life can be something beneficial. Though, it probably may not be the next step you ought to go through. Enduring the cold winds may be some people's best bet at improving while others may need to keep luxuriating in the warmth of the sun.

One important thing my friend told me was ...

You don't put yourself in the deep end and pray that you don't drown. Are you really prepared to leave what you think you are comfortable with?
- A Friend With Dreems

Every decision does have it's consequence as much as it's benefits. A long journey without sufficient preparation comes with the threat of a bigger failure instead of the pivotal moment(s) one is looking for. Thus, it would require checking one's capability and mindfulness.

The aforesaid discussion was able to filter out the randomness of my plans. After assessing myself, it doesn't seem like the right time to take a big leap in search of scattered pieces of life's puzzle. I think...

To do anything out of one's comfort zone, there has to be some aspect of it that feels inspiring and challenging in a positive way.
- James Newton Howard

Moving into a different scene far from familiar ones seems motivational, as it's expected that you'd be forced to do certain things that you didn't think of before. But at the same time, you'd be doing more of the same things and it can also be draining enough to suck all your hopes dry.

I think creating my own challenges and proving to myself that I can do them in the safety of my comfort zone would be better than expecting growth from external factors I can't control. I can have a choice - without consequences - to do what's necessary, prepare myself well and slowly ease out of familiar territory into uncharted lands.

Thanks for sharing my thoughts and Be good to yourself.

png_20211115_074703_0000.png

Graphics made on Canva with Bitmoji integration. Images are mine unless stated otherwise.
Sort:  

Indeed! People aren't supposed to stay in one place; even our ancestors did it. Leaving our comfort bubble and venturing into the unknown is a very terrifying thing to do, but most of the time, we are greatly rewarded for it.

Thanks for the input.
It's terrifying but could be dealt with in as much as the rewards are being achieved.

What very sound advice your friend gave you hehehe... You should keep this friend forever and ever 😍

I'm proud of you

I want to challenge you to fight beyond the lazy crazy and post at least once a week ..

You have it in you..and it's beautiful.

Do this!! 😊😊😊

🙂🙂🙂
I failed to fulfill my previous promise.
This time around, I have to still wait and see how it goes. 😂
Well, it'd go well. I accept the positive challenge. Once a week at least.