Soulful Thoughts

in ThoughtfulDailyPost15 days ago (edited)


PSX_20240519_144538.jpg

The sun had disappeared, and the weather had gone back to being rainy, dull, and gloomy, which kept me indoors and interrupted my garden activities.


PSX_20240519_143631.jpg

So, this morning, when I woke up to luminous glimpses of sunshine, I smiled brightly and went for a 10-minute stroll to Lidl bakery for some fresh pastries.




2.jpg

Chilling in the secluded garden, admiring the plants and colourful flowers, a myriad of soulful thoughts consumed me.

Although I'm pretty good at keeping myself entertained, reflections on the last few days highlighted a deflated feeling caused by boredom, coupled with loneliness, that had crept in.
These emotions left me making comparisons between being alone on my narrowboat surrounded by nature and being alone in my mother-in-law's house with a beautiful garden.

What I found is that it's a bit like black-and-white photography versus colour photography— they are both appealing with strong elements that ignite different sparks in us.

this one 1.jpg

Comparing daily life on my narrowboat and living in a bungalow, there have been more entrances and exits to secure a sense of safety, something that's important to me. Also, the change of scenery on the narrowboat and the freedom of not necessarily having to maintain the surrounding nature myself are appealing.

However, what has stood out the most for me about living solo, is that at the house, there are far more empty walls to look at, which makes me feel like something is amiss. The small, compact space of my narrowboat feels like a hug, which diminishes any feelings of emptiness.

These emotions and feelings reinforced the need to build bonds with the special people in our lives, despite any highs and lows that come with sharing our lives with others.

PSX_20240519_173736.jpg A photo of my mum and my late dad in their early days of courtship. This was an interesting observation in my thoughts.

It's imperative to work for togetherness, respect, tolerance, understanding, and an appreciation for those we share our lives with to avoid regrets during a loss.

Couples can drift away and lose sight of each other easily. This happens frequently, whether there are kids involved or not, due to differences in personalities and interests. However, taking moments to reflect, as I've done today, makes me realise that the similarities and differences between people complement and add spice to relationships.

PSX_20240519_143318.jpg

Just like the beautiful flowers and greenery in this lovely garden, all things need to be nurtured to flourish and thrive.
I have another week here, but I'm looking forward to returning to my narrowboat, and most of all to spending quality time with my significant other.


PSX_20240519_144310.jpg

These flowers in full bloom added colour to my day, and I enjoyed capturing these photos while exploring some deep thoughts.

How has your day been, and have you done anything special with your loved ones recently?



What stimulates my positive thoughts?
“Nature, the outdoors, art, and culture are all essential to my well-being; my soul is nurtured through fitness, photography, meditation, and mindfulness, all of which bring enjoyment to my daily life. I see environmental stewardship as my responsibility and enjoy using herbs and spices for cooking and also for natural remedies. Cinnamon is one of my favourite spices, and I occasionally sprinkle it on my coffee.

My blog frequently features my minimalist lifestyle and adventures while living on my narrowboat.”

Irie love,

Milly

Sort:  

This place looks so peaceful! I can only dream to own a house so close to the nature. Of course, in this season all the surroundings need a lot more maintenance, otherwise the nature will defeat the house.

Today it was quite a rainy day here, which made it perfect to cope with some home maintenance activities and some computer work. Sadly, the little lady didn’t have the chance to go outside and breathe some fresh air…

The surroundings need a lot more maintenance, otherwise, nature will defeat the house.

You're right!

I'm not a television person, which is about all the entertainment here at the house. So I felt out of sorts when cooped up from the rain over the last few days.

I hope that we'll both have great weather in the coming week:)))

This is beautiful. A food for thought and an awesome way to reflect on your life on the boat and one you have here. Both are truly beautiful and have a spice to them.

You look so much like your Mom. Gosh! You guys are like twins and your Dad, hehe, the way he stared at her was wonderful.

Spending time with your significant other is right and has a lot of sweetening attached to it. Have a good day.

Thank you for your touching message. It made me teary-eyed.
I saw that photo of my mum and dad after he passed away, and the way he looked at my mum there is not only beautiful but an idea for me to review photos of me and my husband during our early days, whenever going through the lows.

Thanks for stopping by:)))

Oh. ... that's beautiful 😍.

My condolences again to that. Just staring at the picture alone, there's a lot of lessons that can be learned from it. It shows that he respects and adores your mom and that truly, love can be beautifully amazing.

It is interesting how the pictures made you reflect on your love life with your husband, especially the days things weren't okay. It is very beautiful seeing that this sort of love still exists in our world.

You are welcome 😁.

Thanks again for your lovely take on the image 😍

You are welcome 😁

I think it's important to find the good in everything, else you risk falling into that old mentality of longing for what you don't have and never appreciating what you do :D Fortunately, that doesn't seem to be a problem for you.

What else? Let's see.

Love the shades!

Also, no surprise really, but your parents are gorgeous <3

Thank you 😊

You risk falling into that old mentality of longing for what you don't have and never appreciating what you do

It's so sad when people are like this and I see it happening so often.

No surprise really, but your parents are gorgeous

😊😍

"However, what has stood out the most for me about living solo, is that at the house, there are far more empty walls to look at, which makes me feel like something is amiss. The small, compact space of my narrowboat feels like a hug, which diminishes any feelings of emptiness."

Awww... "feels like a hug"... ¡What a beautiful thing! ;-)

My wife works making handmade pottery and I often sit in her workshop these days explaining to her how maybe ‘Real Madrid’ will win another Champions League Cup this year!... Looking at her face, I guess it's not her favourite conversation, but nobody can say I don't share quality time with her on a daily basis! hehehe :))

Nice post @millycf1976 friend!!!... Have a great week and soon return to your cosy narrowboat...

!discovery 35
!VSC
!PIZZA

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @millycf1976

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @millycf1976

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 9/25

Thanks for the support:)

Looking at her face, I guess it's not her favourite conversation, but nobody can say I don't share quality time with her daily! hehehe :))

🤣 That's too funny!
Yeah, Real Madrid looks promising.

Your funny and kind words are always appreciated:)
Enjoy the rest to the end!

Momma sounds very much like she misses Papa, and even though I am a fresher on this journey, I can relate to this.

Some nights ago, my woman had a concert to attend. Her choir band was going to perform there, and it was fine with me until I kept rolling back and forth, struggling to sleep. I felt her strong absence and had to put a call across.

Staying days apart doesn't seem like something I can endure, but somehow, days like that would come.

Despite the distance, I believe you are having a good time over there. You took a lot from Mom's beauty, and I believe you also have some of her personality too.

I am a loner, but I have to be honest I've become so used to being with my husband all the time, so it takes a lot of getting used to being alone.
I know what you felt in your wife's absence, and I hope that you both won't be separated too often.
Yes, I look a lot like my mum with much of her personality, but she's super bubbly and twice as energetic:)))

I feel like being out of your own element and away from your home and belongings can enhance a feeling of loneliness at times. I've definitely been there before.

In response to your question, my wife and I went hiking today

I think you're right. I'm just out of my element and to top it all, Leicester has changed and I don't enjoy living here as much as I used to.

My wife and I went hiking today

Nice 😊
Hiking is always a fun couple's activity:)

What changed about Leicester?

Hmm, it's a bit rough these days or maybe because I've grown accustomed to being down in the south of England that's very different 🤷‍♀

Hmmm, I see. I think

Lol!
It's still great for its multiculturedness and having access to many products, but the mentality of the people is different.
I never realised how rude and unfriendly Leicester people were until I went to other cities 😆

Yes, I do see you in your mums photo. Quite a resemblance ❤️

Hehe! Yeah, we are the same size, height, and complexion. We once had the same housedress and my dad told me he didn't like it when I wore it because he couldn't tell me different from mummy 😆

Hi @millycf1976,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you @teamuksupport for all that you do:)))

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you so much @thekittygirl and the @innerblocks team:)

Cinnamon skin, enjoy your coffee ... Greetings!

🤗 Thank you, and have a great day too. 😊

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @wesphilbin suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Thank you:)

@millycf1976, you are most welcome!

Please Support Back

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you

@millycf1976! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our Community and follow our Curation Trail
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Thank you for the support:)

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan


Curated by wesphilbin

Thank you:)

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(8/10) tipped @millycf1976

I am just so flipping happy to see you soaking up the sun! I hope this summer keeps that energy for you, last year was too dang rainy 😒☂️

That jumpsuit looks comfy and cute! My best friend pawned a jumpsuit off on me recently, and it is surprisingly cozy! Perfect for us gals over 30, cause I don't even want to be cute if I can't chill! (hbu?) 😂

The photo of your parents is beautiful, and so are your reflections on connection and leaning into differences.

the similarities and differences between people complement and add spice to relationships.

I think this is spot on. It's terribly boring to be with someone who never challenges you, but you also have to have a homebase together. I liked how you highlighted all of that! 💗🤗

Spring/Summer is non-existent here. It's been raining continuously since that day. I saw a headline of the govt suggesting people stock up on canned food.
It's been miserable and I'm eager to be back on my boat.

I don't even want to be cute if I can't chill! (hbu?)

100% I need comfy clothes and shoes full stop

Thank you 😊
It was so interesting seeing that photo and I wish I had seen it about 20 years ago when my dad was still alive.
Made me think about the value there is to looking back at old photos periodically when in relationships. I think it could be like a relationship compass. 🤗❤️

Congratulations @millycf1976! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the June edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - June 1st 2024