You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE DROPLET – SHUT IT DOWN NOW!!!

ahem ahem, I have a lot of catching up to do with you Nine 😏

Easier to armor up.

Sounds like a defense mechanism people adopt to feel right in their own world aka brain. There is wisdom in knowing where we go wrong vs where people went wrong. Both sides need to be evaluated just as much. I am wondering what do you think about this perspective?

I love the droplet images. On what fine rainy day, did you take these shots?

Sort:  

ahem ahem, I have a lot of catching up to do with you Nine 😏

You do, eh? Can't wait to hear. 😉

Armoring is a defense mechanism, exactly as how you've described. From my own perspective, I'm primarily focused on where I've gone wrong. Where others have gone wrong, I see that as a catalyst to look at myself, if I have a "reaction" to it, not outwardly, I contain that, but I know immediately when something creates a ripple for me. So, that is what I watch and listen for in myself when relating to others.

Now, if others go wrong, that's not my responsibility, so I remove myself from that in a sense. There are exceptions to that though, such as a person causing harm to person or property, either towards myself or someone else that needs support from me, if I'm able to do that for another and they want it or the situation warrants it. Not an easy line to walk, so it's all decided in the moment of whatever occurs. I can't plan ahead is what I'm saying.

So both sides need to be considered. That said, I only have control over myself, my thoughts, my emotions, and my choices. I have no control over others or what they choose to do. I keep my focus trained more on my way of walking in this world for that reason.

I'm so happy you like the droplet images. Those are from the very first time I photographed droplets, although I've been working with the droplet theme for a long time. They were not shot on a rainy day. They were shot from inside a very old store that now no longer exists. It was in the fall and winter, so lot of moisture inside on the windows. There were at least eight different light sources to deal with in shooting them. I was very lucky to be given permission to shoot inside that store for months, so I have many photos from that time.

Thank you for checking out my post and your wonderful comment and question.

That said, I only have control over myself, my thoughts, my emotions, and my choices. I have no control over others or what they choose to do. I keep my focus trained more on my way of walking in this world for that reason.

This is the way to go. Ultimately we can only reflect back on our actions and attitudes and change whatever is needed or keep things the same. This is one of those things which we should never give someone else the authority for.

They were shot from inside a very old store that now no longer exists. It was in the fall and winter, so lot of moisture inside on the windows. There were at least eight different light sources to deal with in shooting them.

Wow I wouldn't have guessed this! Those are very pretty shots. The variety of colors mhhhm its all beautiful. Did you edit it a lot?

This is one of those things which we should never give someone else the authority for.

Never give another authority over you. All real power is internally based. Any outside power can be stripped away in the blink of an eye.

Wow I wouldn't have guessed this! Those are very pretty shots. The variety of colors mhhhm its all beautiful. Did you edit it a lot?

For these, no cropping, barely any editing was needed, just a slight refinement. I always shoot at least a few hundred photos in a session, which means much less editing, while at the same time further training my eye. I prefer to do it that way.

All real power is internally based

Couldn't agree more! Anything else from the outside can be taken away instantly. It is unreliable.

I always shoot at least a few hundred photos in a session, which means much less editing, while at the same time further training my eye

I am glad this method works for you! Saves a lot of time spent towards editing!

It does, editing is a very boring activity, like doing laundry, lol