You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing Compares to You

in ThoughtfulDailyPost3 years ago (edited)

Most welcome Denise @dswigle. The last bear on PEI was killed (shot) in 1927. I feel bad the bear was killed. People were afraid of them; some folks had been attacked.

The last bear on P.E.I. was killed by the Leslie family from Souris Line Road. After a snowfall in the winter of 1927, Harold Leslie's grandfather saw bear tracks in the snow. The next day his two teenage sons set off tracking the bear.

"My uncles, there was two of them, George and Bernard ... they left early in the morning," said Leslie. "Could be around noontime perhaps or a little later when they found him under a tree. He was a big male bear, a black bear, They said there was some old wound marks on him

Sort:  

That's kind of funny because they really aren't ferocious oh, but that could be just here in because nobody hunts them in the state parks. He was just so shy and adorable because he kept looking back at me like I was going to follow him or chase him. They're kind of on the small side here oh, but I know that about the Canadian border where we have the house they were bigger. Scratch that oh, they were much bigger. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Most black bears are shy but one has to be careful. There are different bears, I wouldn’t want to meet a grizzly bear out in the wild. Perhaps the recordings of death by black bears was because the bear was hungry or had cubs.

I agree with you 100% and I passed that along to my kids when we spent a lot of time at the summer home. They may seem okay, but, they are still wild animals and can be unpredictable, but, only because we don't know what is going on with them. (hungry, cubs, or rabies, although rare.

Grizzlies are different altogether, and I wouldn't want to meet one either. In areas with expanding bear populations combined with increases in recreational visits that we have had because of COVID, the chance of a bear encounter is higher than usual.

Yes your kids need to be careful as even coyotes have attacked people. I always carry a walking stick when I go for a walk in the forest. You can’t really leave your cat or dog outside with them around looking for a meal.