You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your Assumptions Are Your Windows on the World

I for one seldom jump into any conclusions based on my assumptions. I assume a lot, which I believe comes naturally, from peripheral information, but I always have an open mind, leaving room for corrections and the real deal.

I wonder though, what you would say if I put human behaviour in perspective. You know, what we know of people are mostly assumptions based on their pattern of behaviour. What do you say about these assumptions and the role they play in shaping or marring relationships?

Sort:  

It depends on how you handle those assumptions. We do make assumptions based on our first impressions of people. Often when it comes to dealing with people I allow my gut to provide some direction. As I've learned to trust those instincts I've found they often don't lead me wrong even when I don't always understand the reaction immediately.

People who are genuine, you experience them as they are, they are easy. It's the ones who aren't that take time to fully sort out. I appreciate the former and am wary of the latter.

Interesting! You must be good at discerning character, following your instincts that don't mislead you. Unfortunately for me, sometimes it's confusing. Especially with close friends. I mean, at first I totally approve, my insticts says so, but some years down the line, after say, cohabiting for a while, they just seem to be different people. Makes me very uncomfortable and confused as to what to do next.

Oh well, thanks for your input.
Ciao.

My instincts are not always dead on but I listen enough for them to guide until further evidence becomes available.

I also keep in mind that those instincts can also change over time. We all continue changing for better or worse over the years. So someone you think you have figured out can change to another version down the road. I continue to work on letting my instincts give me heads up while watching to discern.

This is great help really. I'll keep in mind. Thanks!