No more motivational quotes in 2022

in ThoughtfulDailyPost2 years ago (edited)

There is a perfect excuse for everything you do not want. These excuses are always valid. Motivation is an illusion. Today’s date is January 17th and if you are very intentional about sticking to your goals, you might have checked already, “how much have I achieved since the year began?

It is always very easy to set goals, tell yourself a million and one things you want to achieve, but mid-way into the time set to achieve them, you find you have done nothing!
I began the year with a lot of plans, and part of them was to create content everyday on Hive. I mentioned I was going to do a 30 days writing challenge. The first two days were successful, the next day after that was series of excuses that I felt were valid.

I told myself, work is overwhelming, my business is taking a lot of mental energy, the environment is right, I can’t stay up at night to write. These reasons were perfect, my mind assessed them and gave me a 10 out of 10 score for not going with these plans.

What did they say about finding a way when there is a will? Sometimes, these motivational quotes do not really help as much as we expect them to. Motivational quotes are not always motivating.
A broken hearted person should become happy and bubbly when you say words like, “you deserve all the happiness in the words, be happy! A broke man should immediately have millions flowing into his account when he tells himself that he is made to enjoy wealth. But these things do not just happen.

Words are powerful, thoughts are very powerful but they are not always all that we need.

I am sitting here after work hours writing this because I reminded myself that I did not need to give an excuse again. Why? Because this is important to me. This is what I have found out, if you love something so much, you will do everything it will take to keep it. You will pay the price, you will make necessary sacrifices that you need to make.

Motivation is good but you need discipline to keep at everything. It will take discipline to follow a diet, to go to the gym, to write 1,000 words every day, to train your voice, to read a book when you keep hearing the social media notification from your phone.
Discipline is hard work and hard work is discipline. Sorry, that is a motivational quote, but it is one you can carry with you.

Wait, there is a twist, what happens when you have mastered the act of discipline and you are working tirelessly but with no good result? I have been there before. In college, I studied so hard, put in all the hours and ended up failing a course. It was sad. I felt like I had given so much for nothing. If what I was doing wasn’t important to me, I would have given up.

Being persistent even when you fail is a skill. Many people might have said it before, but it is worth mentioning again. No matter how many times you failed last year, try once again, you cannot always be unlucky.

I will end it here, the aim of this post was to remind myself that content for hive is important and against the odds, I must do it. I can hear my colleague’s 7:30pm alarm, it is time to go home.

free piks.jpg

image source: Freepiks
Pics by : dream@do

Sort:  

“how much have I achieved since the year began?

My brother... I've lost count of the number of times I asked myself this question. Haha

Seriously, discipline is needed in all this and it is very easy for someone to throw in excuses especially if they are working in places like this where nobody will be there to compel them to do anything on the site.

I can hear my colleague’s 7:30pm alarm, it is time to go home.

For real? Hehe... That's a late one oooo. Is that the usual time?

7:30pm isn’t the usual time. Just stayed back to do some personal work.

Congratulations @uddydan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I am sitting here after work hours writing this because I reminded myself that I did not need to give an excuse again. Why? Because this is important to me. This is what I have found out, if you love something so much, you will do everything it will take to keep it.

Yes, prioritization is key. At any given time we have a hundred competing goals and we can't do them all. If something's not getting done day after day, then it's not a priority for me at the time. I've learned not to judge myself but instead just be aware of it and if something is not being prioritized and I want it to be, I make sure that I set aside time for that thing in my schedule and push aside other things.