Sayings Saturday # 6: Asking Is Not For Fools

in ThoughtfulDailyPost2 years ago (edited)
Hello Hiveians! It's Sayings Saturday once again. If you have noticed, my last post was almost 4 months ago. I had been studying for my Chemical Technician licensure exam that I took last week of October. Fortunately, I passed the exam! Doing some self-study while working was quite challenging. Both required time, enough attention, and resources. To really squeeze studying into my daily schedule, I had to pause some of my activities, including posting here in Hive. In finding resources, this is what this Chinese proverb that I'm going to share with you is all about.

He who asks a question remains a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask remains a fool forever.

Source: Pop Sugar

I have always been hesitant to ask questions, especially in large crowds. My palms would get sweaty and cold, and I become jittery. Looking back during my school years, I would just be silent and avoid eye contact with the teacher to get away from being called for recitation. If I have questions on some topics, I will just read books or reread my notes. Even during seminars that I attended when I was already working, I would just write my questions on a piece of paper for the host to read or in the chatbox during virtual ones.

One situation I had was when I commuted from work in going home. On a jeepney stop where I usually wait for a ride, there was a jeep that stopped. I assumed that it will pass to my usual route. I immediately hop on without looking at its signs. I also didn't verify with the passengers if it would really pass there. Since all the jeepneys have routes that will pass by my place. I realized that the jeepney did not pass my usual route. I was startled but tried to be calm and still not ask the other passengers where will it go. I just paid to the driver the fare and told him I will get off soon. I really got off to the nearest stop and had to ride another jeep in going home.
Why am I afraid to ask?
I always wonder why I have this fear. I remember my superior asked me why I still get nervous talking in meetings or in public after I had my work evaluation attended by managers. He noticed that something was off when I could no longer answer correctly and I kept on repeating some words.
There are certain things that would make us want to avoid asking questions. One of these is fear of humiliation. We don't want to appear to be clueless or as much as possible avoid being perceived as a fool or stupid for not knowing what we are asking about. We sometimes don't want to lower our pride especially if most of the time we are the ones asked for answers.
Even how introverted or as much as I wanted to be away from a lot of people, there is still a need to collaborate with others. During my "self-review" for the exam, I was not literally studying by myself. I had study sessions with my officemates who also were going to take the exam. We were able to share different study tips from one another.
What am I to do?
I'm already more than 3 decades old but I know it's never too late to be comfortable talking in public or just having a not-so-awkward conversation with just some acquaintances. As we normally hear, practice makes perfect. Getting used to giving speeches or making presentations can ease the tension in doing these tasks. In my current work, I am grateful that they encourage us to do meetings using the English language and join clubs that would enhance our skills. In this way, we would be comfortable during our presentations with the executives.

Lastly, let us not be afraid to ask questions even how silly it could be. It helps us to lift that burden of what-ifs in our minds. It's better to have an unanswered question than not to have asked at all.
Love Lots,
@wandergirl ❤️

Sources:
Linkedin
INC.com
Toastmasters International
Slate


Wandergirl
Wandergirl / MC is a combination of three people – an engineer, a blogger and a mom. She is a chemical engineer by profession aiming to provide value to the food industry. She loves to travel, which is what inspired her to start writing, and she now writes about anything her mind wanders off to. Finally, she is a mom – to three naughty but adorable pets: Ginger (a Labrador), Biggie (50% Shih Tzu and 50% hot dog) and Kitty (an adopted stray cat who is also quite the wanderer).

Thank you for dropping by, upvotes and reblogs will truly be appreciated. And more importantly, feel free to comment down below, I’d really like to know your thoughts. Stay curious and stay safe everyone!

author.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @wandergirl for another milestone.
Each of us will really improve in our specific field.
I'm also hesitant asking questions during webinar or any seminars that is why I just put it into writing. Thanks to HIVE I can express everything in my mind.

Thanks @missleray! What's important is that we don't stop pushing ourselves to become better everyday. 😁

You're absolutely right. ☺️
You're welcome. ☺️

Congratulations @wandergirl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!