My collection of posts from my time in Tanzania


2r8F9rTBenJR3iqPxDrevHK3vDeQGnHc8Wj8C8neiJB8zpEYsFk1ac4D6r8KbDJWzsLtRupJggJog2cLX1PZAGdBLUVsf9nLppq9aDCyXG6XrQ15gmHaHmZi6gWWozCF8.jpg

Photo by me

Once in a lifetime experience

break.png

During the summer of 2017, I was hired to document the efforts of a non-profit organization in Tanzania. During that time, I spent about a month living amongst the Maasai in various villages. I was also lucky enough to be able to go on a safari on the Serengeti and Ngorogoro Crater. It was truly a remarkable experience and I am grateful for that opportunity. The people of Tanzania are beautiful and caring and some of the most happy people I have ever met in my life.

This collection of posts are ones that I have written over the years about the different experiences that I had while I was there. @peakd announced a contest for making the Best Collections (CCC/ curated content collections). I would share the link here, but when I do, it shares the post as part of the collection and not a link. So if you want more information on the contest or on how to make a curated collection, check out the @peakd page.

https://peakd.com/life/@derangedvisions/the-most-amazing-woman-that-i-don-t-know
I met the most amazing woman. She is full of strength and compassion. Her story is remarkable.

https://peakd.com/life/@derangedvisions/living-in-a-maasai-village-in-africa-part-1

This post is about the first days I spent living with the Maasai in their village.

https://peakd.com/blog/@derangedvisions/hanging-with-the-village-elder

This is a fun post about how the village elder tried to get me drunk and showed me how they make alcohol in their village.

https://peakd.com/photography/@derangedvisions/slideshow-from-my-summer-in-africa

This post contains a video slideshow of some of my favorite photos I took while I was there in Tanzania.

https://peakd.com/blog/@derangedvisions/my-bird-hunting-buddy-in-africa-african-stories-entry-1

A heartwarming post about my bird hunting buddy William. He will always have a special place in my heart. We became good friends despite a language barrier.

https://peakd.com/travel/@derangedvisions/the-day-i-was-welcomed-as-a-maasai-warrior-african-stories-entry-2

This was about the day I became known in the village as Mejooli, which translates to "one who cannot be defeated" or "invincible". This post contains graphic images and is not for the faint of heart. I drank goat blood straight from the goats neck.

https://peakd.com/life/@derangedvisions/bubbles-are-the-universal-language-for-fun-african-stories-entry-3

I have so many great memories about my time in the village, but nothing compares to spending time with the children and their smiling faces.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/safari-time-african-stories-entry-4

This is the first post of three of the safari. I was able to catch some lions doing the dirty on the Serengeti.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/the-safari-adventure-continues-african-stories-entry-5

The second post of my safari adventure. So many cool photos of the animals in this one.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/the-safari-s-exciting-conclusion-african-stories-entry-6

In this one I experience a sunrise on the Serengeti, we see a lot of cool animals as we make our way to the Ngorogor Crater to see a lot more animals and end the safari.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/it-s-more-than-just-paint-african-stories-entry-7

I talk about the importance of some of the work we did for a medical clinic in Mto wa Mbu Village. I hope the work we did there has made a difference for them years later.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/wildlife-of-mto-wa-mbu-village-african-stories-entry-8

While in Mto wa Mbu, I was able to see so many cool animals up close without any barriers between us. Baboons are super scary when they are right up next to you.

https://peakd.com/travelfeed/@derangedvisions/making-the-world-a-better-place-for-future-generations-african-stories-entry-9

Throughout my adult life, I have been through some pretty horrific experiences and seen humanity do horrible things to each other. Have you ever stopped and thought about what people would say about you after you are gone? I have known a lot of great heroes in my time that have left this world and left their mark, but what mark would I leave?


This concludes the posts I have made about my time in Tanzania. It was such an amazing experience and one that I am eternally grateful for being able to do. I love to travel and see the beauty that our world has. There are so many wonderful people in this world. I hope to be able to continue my travels and meet more people and go to new places.

Thank you for taking the time to check out my Tanzania Collection. I hope you enjoyed some of the posts. You are awesome.

Sort:  

Now you got me interested in viewing your collection of other works. I look forward to creating time to read about them one by one today

I hope you enjoy them.

Your commentary on each part of the collection were really great to an already great collection.

Thanks. I had a lot of fun going through them and writing up descriptions

well you could tell your descriptions were top notch.

This is great stuff man. I missed out on a lot of your older posts, so this collection will allow me to understand what you are into, for instance your time spent in Africa. I was just reading the one where you were drinking blood! Such an awesome story. Many more I'm sure, I'll have to look closer at all of these, but damn there is a lot of content here.

lol. That was so gross. I think you will like a lot of the others ones as well. I am going to be making collections about some of my other travels too. Maybe like once a week where I make a collection about a different part of traveling.

Gross maybe, insanely nutritious is more like it. It's a total power move.
I look forward to seeing more travels that I missed the first time around. We have been at this for so long, hard to keep up with it all. Collections are bigger than most realize right now.

I am sure that is an awesome collection!
Will take my timw tomorrow and go through it. Thanks for sharing, and I might do a collection myself soon as well.

It will take you a while to get through them all. Especially the safari ones. Thanks for stopping by. I am hoping that you make a collection of your travels and photography as well.

Those shots of the child with the bubbles are so sweet. I got misty.