Updates and improvements to V4V.app

in Value 4 Value6 months ago

hivebuzz-orca-120.png

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Support Proposal 265 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 265 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner

This is a value for value post: see the explanation in the footer.


Upgrades to V4V.app

I'll admit I've been a bit slow on some upgrades which I wanted to do since HiveFest. As most of you will know, soon after I got back to Israel from Mexico, we were plunged into a major war here in Israel. Aside from the physical effect (rocket fire at my home and so on) there is a major psychological effect on the entire country.

Point of Sale (POS) bookmarking with fixed page

I added a small upgrade which lets you bookmark a page for a store to accept payments without any chance of the destination Hive account changing.

For example, the following address gives you a page which will only ever generate payments to my Hive account. You can put your own account in there.

https://v4v.app/pos/@brianoflondon/

The idea is that if you have a store with a table or phone, you can open that URL, bookmark it on the home screen and whenever you go to that link, without any log in or other complications, it will generate invoices for Hive or Lightning that always go to the same Hive account.

I realised this would be helpful after watching the coffee shop in Rosarito using my app.

I'm still trying to think of a good interface to help explain this, if you have ideas, let me know!

image.png

Better Feedback on Lightning Failures

The Lightning Network can sometimes be flakey. Payments fail or time out for seemingly mysterious reasons. Sometimes my system knows why and sometimes it doesn't.

When someone wants to swap Hive or HBD to Lightning they do this by sending @v4vapp a transfer of Hive/HBD with a Lightning invoice as the message. My own site v4v.app adds on approximately 3 Hive or 1 HBD to the amount it requests and you receive back the change minus the service fee and Lightning fees.

If everything works, I send back this change with a success message.

However if something goes wrong, I also communicate that back with a Hive message but now I've added functionality to my v4v.app site so that if something does go wrong, it's shown at the top of the screen in the app.

In this example the message says:

"Something went wrong with paying the Lightning Invoice: invoice is already paid, returning all Hive funds"

Each Lightning invoice can only be used once, this message comes back when someone tries to pay the same invoice when it was already used.

Something went wrong with paying the Lightning Invoice: invoice is already paid, returning all Hive funds

That's all for now

Thanks for your patience, I'm working and the system is running well and I'm seeing more and more people using the service for the first time. So thank you all!


Value for Value

For the last few months while building @v4vapp I was generously supported by the DHF. Going forward I have a much more modest support which covers direct server costs and a little of my time.

If you appreciate the work I do on and around Hive, you can express this directly: upvoting posts on Hive is great. Also consider a direct donation (there's a Tip button on Hive or a Lightning Address) on all my posts.

Support Proposal 265 on PeakD
Support Proposal 265 with Hivesigner
Support Proposal 265 on Ecency
Vote for Brianoflondon's Witness KeyChain or HiveSigner


Send Lightning to Me!

Sort:  

good to see some updates. happy you shared that post about E-sim was a great help for the WRC, worked great in all 4 countries and feels nice to pay it with HBD :)

I've been pretty happy with my Silent Link eSim definitely a great option!

Nice updates, especially the Point of Sale feature for several transactions. Kudos on your progress..

This update is really great to hear. Keep doing the great job

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

That's awesome
I may begin to earn some Satoshi so I will surely make use of your platform for the exchange to Hive
Keep it up!

Awesome app, voting for your proposal 265, keep up the good work!🤗

The good thing is that the app owners take care of the app and keep updating and improving it, so the apps continue to run as they are.

Congratulations @brianoflondon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 195000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023

I'm truly amazed you can get anything done right now (rocket fire at your house?!) but these new features look amazing.

Ah very well, now I understand why every time I make a transaction I receive something back.
I would like to take this opportunity to tell you that I have been trying to make a payment for three days and I can't do it neither with Hive nor with HBD. Is there a problem with LN? Or the payment channel has no funds?
You can count on my support.


Ah muy bien, ahora sí entiendo porqué siempre que realizó una transacción recibo algo de vuelta.
Aprovecho de comentarte que desde hace tres días trato de hacer un pago y no puedo lograrlo ni con Hive ni con HBD. Hay problemas con LN? O el canal de pago no tiene fondos?
Cuenta con mi apoyo.