I have to start my life from scratch [ENG - ESP]

in Catarsis2 years ago

thumbnail_IMG_0494.jpg

Seems like forever ago that I have been showing up here... and seems like all that I need from time to time is just some time to think and focus on what's been going on.

"I have to start my life from scratch"



That's what I said to her, to the only person I believe that has understood me the most through this process and that shares a path in life that looks just like mine (no need to say it, but yeah @belug, I'm talking about you!). I mumbled those words out of a sudden and out of the blue, and then I realized how heavy and how much it all means. Everything materialized right in front of me as it hadn't before.


IMG_1932.jpeg


Quick recap of all that has been going on in this past months:

I fulfilled one of the dreams I was probably looking forward the most, I was able to travel across Europe for about six months and I feel so different right now from that starting point. It feels so distant the moment in which I left Argentina with more uncertainty than anything else, a whole new person is writing this at the moment... and yet, there are so many things I still need to process.

Most people around me think it all came down to visiting places, moving cities, walking around spots I've never been in and landscapes, wonderful and breathtaking sightseeings. But that's not what I'm talking about, I faced so many different things these past couple of months that I still can't believe how much I have changed. How I learnt to cope and deal with situation that before were just a messy emotional drama to me.

I learnt how precious silence is, I felt it like I hadn't before. In my own introspection, I felt peace. My worst demons have of course arisen from the underground to haunt me, but there's so much wisdom in listening to them and allowing them to talk. No need to fear, no need to run away from anything. The darkest night always ends, eventually.

I decided to move, finally. I made up my mind to find a new job in a country that's new to me, in a place in which I barely share the culture and where I only have three friends. I only have a suitcase with me, my university degree is back in Argentina and my family and friends from all my life too... but I'm no longer there.

Everything seemed incredibly hard to make a decision, but avoiding it or just refusing to face the uncertainty would only mean to seal a deal in which my happiness has been traded for comfort. And this past time I have learnt that there's no shame, guilt, certainty or laziness that could ever allow me to do that.

So, after all this being said...

I need to build my foundations again


IMG_9053.jpeg



As dramatic as it sounds, as painful it might eventually be for me or my beloved ones... Life goes on. New job opportunities are waiting for me, new friendships are expecting to be made, new adventures are about to be lived, everything new... 'cause my old me doesn't exist any more.

I am finally on the last part of my trip, Madrid will be there, with open arms waiting for me in November. I only have one suitcase, three friends that are excited to have me around there (two of them I met them last month, so I couldn't be happier about that!), already working incredibly hard to get a job that suits me and I'm looking for a place to stay. It's really overwhelming from time to time. Really.

Argentina. I look back and there's nothing in there for me. I do miss my family, friends, my pets and my apartment... but it's just a weird mixture of feelings. I do miss them, not my country. I do want to keep on sharing experiences and things with them, but I don't ever want to go back to live in there. Sometimes I just get twisted into thoughts about how unfair and difficult it is to face this type of situations.

I have spent a lot of time lately being silent, being on my own. Not even talking to people over the phone or doing major cool stuff. I just needed to be quiet and I still do. Starting everything from scratch seems like a huge challenge, even bigger than I thought it would be. I am still getting used to the uncertainty and being able not to plan everything ahead, I believe it's still part of undergoing the chaos...



PS: All pictures have been taken by me. And I'm sorry for the huge gap between my posts... sometimes it's hard to defeat the mental blockage...


Separadores-52.png

[ESP]

thumbnail_IMG_0494.jpg

Parece que hace una eternidad que no he estado apareciendo aquí... y parece que todo lo que necesito de vez en cuando es solo algo de tiempo para pensar y concentrarme en lo que ha estado pasando.

"Tengo que empezar mi vida de cero"



Eso es lo que le dije a ella, a la única persona que creo que me ha entendido más a través de este proceso y que comparte un camino en la vida que se parece al mío (no hace falta que lo diga, pero sí @belug, estoy hablando acerca de ti). Murmuré esas palabras de repente y de la nada, y luego me di cuenta de lo pesado y lo mucho que significa todo. Todo se materializó justo en frente de mí como no lo había hecho antes.


IMG_1932.jpeg


Resumen rápido de todo lo que ha estado sucediendo en los últimos meses:

Cumplí uno de los sueños que probablemente más anhelaba, pude viajar por Europa durante unos seis meses y ahora me siento muy diferente desde ese punto de partida. Se siente tan lejano el momento en que salí de Argentina con más incertidumbre que otra cosa, una persona completamente nueva está escribiendo esto en este momento... y sin embargo, hay tantas cosas que todavía tengo que procesar.

La mayoría de la gente que me rodea piensa que todo se reduce a visitar lugares, mover ciudades, caminar por lugares en los que nunca he estado y paisajes, visitas turísticas maravillosas e impresionantes. Pero eso no es de lo que estoy hablando, enfrenté tantas cosas diferentes estos últimos meses que todavía no puedo creer cuánto he cambiado. Cómo aprendí a sobrellevar y lidiar con situaciones que antes eran solo un drama emocional desordenado para mí.

Aprendí lo precioso que es el silencio, lo sentí como nunca antes. En mi propia introspección, sentí paz. Mis peores demonios, por supuesto, han surgido del subsuelo para perseguirme, pero hay mucha sabiduría en escucharlos y permitirles hablar. No hay necesidad de temer, no hay necesidad de huir de nada. La noche más oscura siempre termina, eventualmente.

Decidí mudarme, finalmente. Decidí buscar un nuevo trabajo en un país nuevo para mí, en un lugar en el que apenas comparto la cultura y donde solo tengo tres amigos. Solo tengo una maleta conmigo, mi carrera universitaria está de vuelta en Argentina y mi familia y amigos de toda mi vida también... pero ya no estoy.

Todo parecía increíblemente difícil para tomar una decisión, pero evitarlo o simplemente negarme a enfrentar la incertidumbre solo significaría sellar un trato en el que mi felicidad se cambia por comodidad. Y este tiempo pasado he aprendido que no hay vergüenza, culpa, certeza o pereza que pueda permitirme hacer eso.

Así que después de todo esto dicho...

Necesito construir mis bases nuevamente


IMG_9053.jpeg



Por dramático que suene, por doloroso que pueda llegar a ser para mí o para mis seres queridos... La vida continúa. Nuevas oportunidades laborales me esperan, nuevas amistades esperan hacer, nuevas aventuras están por vivir, todo nuevo... porque mi antiguo yo ya no existe.

Por fin estoy en la última parte de mi viaje, Madrid estará allí, con los brazos abiertos esperándome en noviembre. Solo tengo una maleta, tres amigos que están emocionados de tenerme por ahí (a dos de ellos los conocí el mes pasado, ¡así que no podría estar más feliz por eso!), que ya están trabajando increíblemente duro para conseguir un trabajo que se adapte a mí y Estoy buscando un lugar para quedarme. Es realmente abrumador de vez en cuando. En realidad.

Argentina. Miro hacia atrás y no hay nada allí para mí. Extraño a mi familia, amigos, mis mascotas y mi departamento... pero es solo una extraña mezcla de sentimientos. Los extraño, no a mi país. Quiero seguir compartiendo experiencias y cosas con ellos, pero no quiero volver a vivir allí nunca más. A veces simplemente me enredo en pensamientos sobre lo injusto y difícil que es enfrentar este tipo de situaciones.

Últimamente he pasado mucho tiempo en silencio, sola. Ni siquiera hablar con la gente por teléfono o hacer cosas geniales importantes. Solo necesitaba estar callada y todavía lo hago. Comenzar todo desde cero parece un gran desafío, incluso más grande de lo que pensé que sería. Todavía me estoy acostumbrando a la incertidumbre y a no poder planificar todo con anticipación, creo que todavía es parte de vivir el caos...



PD: Todas las fotos han sido tomadas por mi. Lamento mucho el gran espacio temporal que hay entre todas mis publicaciones... a veces es realmente dificil superar el bloqueo mental...