[ENG - ESP] Resentments and anger

in Catarsis2 years ago

「 English 」


a
Source

Neurosis is perhaps, and this is a personal opinion, the most terrible disease from the point of view of emotional suffering and the most lethal from the morbidity it entails.

It is since the twentieth century, and as a result of the advances in psychiatry and psychology of the early years of that century that begins to give due importance to this disease condition that attacks the nervous system and whose main feature is the emotional and therefore mental instability.

This introduction, which seems to be the opinion of a mental health professional, is in reality the experience of a person who has lived and still lives with the mental limitation of being a neurotic; a word that I found particularly unpleasant to say the least.

A neurotic person, like me, suffers fundamentally from what psychologists call the seven defects of character, which for some religions are called sins, namely: pride, greed, lust, anger, gluttony, envy and laziness.

Guided by professionals, logically, I have come to the conclusion that beyond these defects, which I admit I do not suffer from, but I have had to accept, not without little effort, that neurosis is incurable and therefore the defects of character will always be there ready to return to be the drivers of my mental and therefore emotional life.

I am a human being of habits and since I was a child I got used to act, from fear, through these character defects that somehow made up for my cowardice to face life. I always felt that I did not belong, that no matter where I was: at home, at school or simply in the street with the neighbors, I simply, I repeat "I was not there". I was very afraid to give my point of view, to say what I thought, to not play like the others, to be ridiculed, to be mistreated and, in short, to not be loved; so, I discovered that, through money, even if it was pennies, or through achieving things that were the product of a great effort, I could achieve a place.

At the age of fifteen and in a state of great mental confusion, I made the decision to seek help in a psychiatric hospital, probably after having heard or read some news that may have reached my hands; how was it possible that a beardless person could seek that kind of help? Even today I still do not understand or have not managed, not even with professional help, to understand what or how this event of seeking help occurred. That, I discovered some time later, was the right word because that was what my mind was screaming: "HELP".

In every mental health facility, the first requirement they demand is that the person who needs to be attended must be accompanied by a representative, a family member, of legal age. Because, I don't know, I was attended to without this requirement and, besides, I remember it with much affection and therefore gratitude, in a very solicitous way. Everyone, a scribe, a nurse, a psychiatrist, a technician, everyone, I repeat, treated me in such a way that I really felt loved; I felt that I was important to them and that made me a very cooperative patient. In that hospital for the mentally ill I never knew the area where the patients were hospitalized; I think it was a way of not scaring those of us who were not in a serious condition, I say.

So, after some physical examinations and others that involved some very strange machines for me at that time, a few days later I was summoned for my first interview with a psychiatrist.


「 Español 」


a
Source

La neurosis es quizás, y es una opinión personal, la enfermedad más terrible desde el punto de vista del sufrimiento emocional y más letal desde la morbilidad que esta conlleva.

Es desde el siglo XX, y a raíz de los avances en siquiatría y sicología de los primeros años de ese siglo que se empieza a dar la importancia debida a esta condición de enfermedad que ataca el sistema nervioso y cuya característica principal es la inestabilidad emocional y por lo tanto mental.

Esta introducción, que pareciera la opinión de un profesional de la salud mental, es en realidad la experiencia de una persona que ha vivido y que todavía lleva consigo la limitación mental que significa ser un neurótico; palabra esta que me resulto particularmente desagradable por decir, lo menos.

Una persona neurótica, como yo, padece fundamentalmente de lo que los sicólogos llaman los siete defectos de carácter, y que para algunas religiones son llamados pecados, a saber: orgullo, avaricia, lujuria, ira, gula, envidia y pereza.

Guiado por los profesionales lógicamente, he llegado a la conclusión que más allá de estos defectos, los cuales reconozco no padecer, pero me ha tocado aceptar, no sin poco esfuerzo, que la neurosis es incurable por lo cual los defectos de carácter siempre estarán allí prestos a volver a ser los conductores de mi vida mental y por lo tanto emocional.

Soy un ser humano de hábitos y desde muy niño me habitúe a actuar, desde el miedo, a través de estos defectos de carácter que suplían de alguna manera mi cobardía para enfrentarme a la vida. Siempre me sentí que no pertenecía, que me encontrare donde me encontrare: la casa, el colegio o simplemente en la calle con los vecinos, pues simplemente, repito “no me hallaba”. Tenía muchísimo miedo a dar mi punto de vista, a decir lo que pensaba, a no jugar como los demás, a quedar en ridículo, a ser maltratado y, en fin, a que no me quisieran; así que descubrí que, a través del dinero, aunque fuera centavos, o a través de lograr cosas producto de un gran empeño podía lograr un sitio.

A los quince años y en un estado de mucha confusión mental, tome la decisión de buscar ayuda en un hospital siquiátrico, seguramente después de haber oído o haber leído alguna noticia que haya podido llegar a mis manos; ¿cómo era posible que un imberbe pudiese buscar ese tipo de ayuda? Todavía hoy no entiendo o no he logrado, ni siquiera con la ayuda profesional comprender que o como se dio ese evento de buscar auxilio. Esa, descubrí algún tiempo después, era la palabra correcta porque era lo que estaba gritando mi mente: “AUXILIO”.

En todo establecimiento de salud mental el primer requisito que exigen es que la persona que necesite ser atendida debe ser acompañado por un representante, familiar, mayor de edad. Porque, no sé, a mí me atendieron sin exigirme ese requisito y, además, lo recuerdo con mucho cariño y por lo tanto agradecimiento, de una forma muy solicita. Todos, una escribiente, una enfermera, un siquiatra, un técnico, todos, repito, me trataron de manera tal que me sentí querido realmente; sentí que yo era importante para ellos y eso me hizo ser un paciente muy colaborador. En ese nosocomio para enfermos mentales no conocí nunca el área donde se encontraban los pacientes hospitalizados; creo que era una forma de no asustar a aquellos que no estábamos en un estado grave, digo yo.

Así que después de algunos exámenes físicos y otros que implicaban unas máquinas para mi muy extrañas en ese momento, algunos días después fui citado para mi primera entrevista con un médico siquiatra.

Sort:  

I was thinking there is no need to be summoned to see a psychiatrist as that's already going too far.

K believe every human have that trace at a point which every human just need to work to overcome it no matter how it present itself