Yup Review - Dapp Series

in Palnet3 years ago (edited)

A Social Network for Curators

Yup is the number 2 app on the EOS Blockchain. It has a lot of daily users *.

What is Yup?

Yup is a site where you can "Curate and share content across the web, Earn money and clout for your taste".
Sounds interesting so I thought I would try it out.

As part of my #rediscovercrypto journey I am looking at what is up and running in Crypto, what has materialised over the last few years. I am really excited to try out all the Dapps that are popular.

Onboarding

I linked my twitter account to log in and I got access to a feed which was fairly intuitive

image.png

  • The onboarding was fairly straightforward and I could then browse articles and vote on them.
  • I seem to have been given an influence rating based on my twitter profile.

Using the Dapp

image.png

  • I can browse in a regular browser and upvote and add comments.

image.png

  • There are different categories which you can browse.

Review

Overall the initial experience is a bit confusing but the concept seems interesting and it gives you a different way to browse content on the internet.

  • I am not clear on how you can add new content. For example #hive posts.
  • I am also not clear how or why it links to the twitter account
  • You can also like a metamask extenstion but this seems buggy
  • Some of the collections I was trying to browse dont seem to work.

Overall it's an interesting concept and I will give it more time, and see if I can start earning with it by curating.

Edit

The Help docs are here. Why do I always read the manual after I try something out, I dont make my life easy :)
https://docs.yup.io/
Also More info on the Launch

Whats really interesting about Yup is that they are focusing on using 2 Layer 1 chains. One for Liquidity (ETH) and one for transactions (EOS)

Previous Posts in this Series

detective-1424831_960_720.webp

If you are rediscovering crypto after an absence why not make a blog on Hive using the #rediscovercrypto and share with the community what you find.

Notes

*https://www.stateofthedapps.com/platforms/eos

Sort:  

First I've heard about it.

Trying it on Brave, it failed to create an account for me multiple times while attempting to use Twitter as an account log in.

It does seem a bit buggy but it's a lot of daily users apparently so I'll give it another go.

I got the chrome extension working and its fairly easy and intuitive to use. I also attended a meeting where they are discussing developments. It's interesting that they have an app that is built on the blockchain for voting and a separate user forum where the community seems to hang out. They are looking to merge the two.