Dealing with Hurricane Laura! (Part 1)

in Palnet4 years ago

211401_5day_cone_no_line_and_wind.pngSource
I might be throwing my area of domain out for all to see but what better to do? I have lived in Southwest Louisiana all my life. I have had to deal with these storms a few times so this one is no different.

I wanted to stay home and deal with the problems and destruction that comes with it. I was going to send the family up north to my moms but I didn't want the wife to worry about me. Most times with these storms is the amount of downed trees that destroys the power grid. With that there wouldn't be any cell service to get ahold of me. I know this from going through Hurricane Rita 15 years ago.

Monday after work I got home and started putting things up so they don't fly away from my yard. As long as my shop doesn't fall over. Loaded up the vehicle and left out early Tuesday morning.

I've dealt with the mad evacuation traffic before and that is no fun. When it takes hours to go a few miles that when you know what pure hell is.

That is the reason why we left way before there was a mandatory evacuation order.

The storm is not supposed to hit the coast until late Wednesday night or early Thursday morning. I hate the fact that I might get a lot of damage to my home but thats why I pay for insurance.

It was a smooth drive from there with no traffic. Better to be first out than stuck in the middle!

Now I have to play the waiting game to find out what's gonna get destroyed. I went ahead and brought my chainsaw with me because I plan on heading back as soon as possible to inspect the damage. 20200825_171845.jpg
You never know when a down tree is going to be in the way and you need to cut it up and move it!

But for now I play the waiting game! To be continued...

8SzwQc8j2KJZo6c43w4BYMq3Z45dLesHCsGJGEjt68cZymSv7udGU9RfE4bWCN1JKCBA46oA2SdNFFntKrNx4fFNUYYPs4GNLGRn5WpcF3mhxk8uUBg.png

Sort:  

Dreading the traffic tomorrow but we couldn't leave early 😭

Yall be safe, hope traffic not to bad!

Posted using Dapplr