Behind The Wheel, Skipping Heartbeats

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Anytime I say this story, people laugh and I get shy so I don’t like talking about it. I mean in fact I’m posting it by this time because most people will be asleep anyway and the laughter might be way less. I was what? 18, 18 years when I started feeling a sudden urge to learn how to drive. It was even funny in the beginning to my brothers because as the only girl, I never really want to do any work. From what I had heard, driving was tiring sometimes and anything tiring at home? Count me out.

My brothers genuinely didn’t understand why I wanted to learn how to drive because it was not as if I would even drive them after knowing how to. So according to them, there was no point in teaching me. Wait, I mean who even said I was learning to drive them, I just wanted to flex here and there. My brothers didn’t even make any effort to teach me even the function of the steering wheel.

One particular vacation, my cousin came home with his new car and I just knew the right time had come. Right after I told my cousin, he agreed to teach me. In my head, so much flexing was going to go on that vacation. Imagine me with my glasses and all the flexing in the driver’s seat. I went for driving lessons just twice and I got all that I needed to be a chief driver( I’m actually laughing right now, because my palm looked tiny on the wheels).

Let’s skip to the interesting part. I learned the basics or so I thought. On the last day, my cousin asked that I drive us back home. I was like eh?? You say?? Honestly learning how to drive is easy but doing the actual thing? Hmm, first time driving for real. I drove us out of the car park where I was having the lessons and got on the main road. This is something I will never forget. Within that space of about 2 minutes that I left the lessons grounds, I had forgotten all that I learned. I was just accelerating and totally forgot about the thing called brake.

Right from no where, this old lady started crossing the road. Actually, I thought since she saw me coming, she would hurry and cross or something but she was even more slower than when we first saw her walking on the pavement. At that point, I was screaming what should I do? What should I do? And then my cousin was also responding with his own scream…”Daniella kill us o Daniella kill us”. Right before I got to the old lady I took a sharp turn and missed her probably by some decimal meters. I was scared and shivering. After turning, I just got down from the driver’s seat and asked my cousin to resume his seat because passenger princess is where I belong.

Have I tried driving after that day?of course, I’m a chief driver now but that’s another story for another day.

All images are mine
Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I had forgotten all that I learned. I was just accelerating and totally forgot about the thing called brake.

Hahaha, what did I just read Abenad

I am trying to imagine how you escaped not hitting the lady
Is it that when your cousin started screaming, you remembered the break? Hahaha 😂

Well glad you are now a chief driver...that's great to hear
First time trying something new always come with diverse experiences

🤣🤣🤣🤣yeah I think the screen brought back everything I learned

lol the fact that you drop the post now with the hope that we will be asleep and wont laugh at you didn't work, you want to use your princess body to start driving 🤣, it is really interesting. There is this saying that, he that drive with his mouth will never have accident, that is the reason why you thought driving is easy.

you almost hit a lady wow, chief driver in deed but it is really a bold move though, kudos daniella don't kill us o

🤣🤣🤣, I thought it was easy o
I didn’t know it contained a lot 🤣🤣

What were you doing here that time 🤣🤣🤣

yes lot of things actually especially when you are on the road, you don't need to assume people will walk fast or leave the road, just drive carefully.

I was playing game around that time

Oh yeah, no assumption

Oh okay

 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

😂😂😂😂😂

Your brothers saw something you didn't see.

But, it's nice you can drive now.

Ohhh don’t mind them, they saw nothing 🤣🤣🤣

🤣🤣🤣 Daniella kill us oo, Daniella kill us oo 🤣🤣🤣. You're killing me too 🤣

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Hehe, driver princess weldone o
Well at thw beginning driving can be fascinating but as you drive for some time you just get tired and would prefer people to drive you. Its a nice desire to learn to drive, it's one necessity for life

Haha yeah

Driver princess, you really did a great job not hitting the old lady. I am happy you still found the courage to perfect your driving skills after the whole experience. Now, let me go and laugh in peace. 🤣🤣🤣🤣
#dreemerforlife

🤣🤣🤣🤣

😂😂😂😂 auntie want to using driving to flex, I can't even imagine how you must have felt at that moment.

@bipolar95 come and see your sister o. Well Done Chief driver.

🤣🤣🤣🤣

I saw her inside car, I was praying to God let it be photoshoot not that she actually drove.

If she like, let her enter Guinness book of world records, she will not drive me. 🌚

This woman🤣🤣

😂 as I see you Dey come like this, I will clear road 🤣

Let me assume that the learning space
and when you almost killed the old woman was about a week or so. How come the lectures didn't stay in your brain? Lol😂

Allow me to be a princess

This dreemer is here again 🤗
#dreemerforlife

Sweet dreemer🥰

I still will not let you drive me sha, I'd rather trek. The same way I trekked here from #dreemport 🙄

I hear this a lot so I’m not surprised but when I see you trekking and I’m driving you better run🤣

Lmfaoooo 😂🤣😂🤣🤣 I will enter gutter Infact 😂

I even love your courage to have actually taken the wheels, thank God you missed the old woman. Thank goodness it wasn't a road that is too busy, it could have been bad and won't be this funny. Glad the experience didn't traumatize you to abandon driving. I am sure you are a pro now!

#dreemerforlife

Haha, I’m glad I missed her too