My Journey into Independence

in Hive Naija23 days ago

Growing up as a child, I rely on my parent for everything which includes feeding, clothing, and other basic things. I got so comfortable that it became a challenge for me to become independent.

I grew up in a family where parents do their best to meet the needs of their children. Being the firstborn of the family gave me other additional privileges and I never thought of becoming independent. This continued till when I finished my secondary school education.

Luckily for me, I gain admission into a prestigious university shortly after my secondary school education. It was my first time of staying without my parent. I have always been with them all this while. I remember the day I was about to leave for school, my parents drove me down to school, and my mum helped in cleaning the room and assisted in arranging my stuff. She even prepared a pot of stew full of assorted meat. It was an emotional moment while they were leaving. I cried my eyes out.

After they left, I was left to myself. I tried adjusting to the fact that my parents can't always be there for me. Though they are not physically present but yet they still call every day and I never lack money in my bank account because they keep sending money to me frequently.

I remember the first time I took a bike. I was getting late for class and the only option I had was to take a bike. It was indeed a funny experience. I was so scared, I could not sit comfortably. Many of my friends were surprised when I told them it was my first time boarding a bike. The reason why it was my first time was because when I was at home with my parent, anytime I wanted to go out to buy things it's my parent who used to drive us in the car so I never had any reason to board a bike at all.

Any slight break or holiday at school, I travel immediately without waiting till the next day. Most times my friends do wonder why I travel home at any slight opportunity.

My life continued this way till I finished my undergraduate program, I was enjoying the comfort of having parents who meet most of my needs.

When it was time for me to go for my NYSC, My parent wanted me to be posted close by but as God would have it, I was posted to the north, Kaduna precisely. I really enjoyed my stay in Kaduna. During the first 2 months of my NYSC program, my parent was still sending me monthly stipends so when it was the third month I asked them to stop. Although at first I was scared because I was thinking about how will I meet my basic needs but I learned to manage the little stipend I was being paid to sustain myself and that was how the journey of being independent started.

After my NYSC, I decided to return back to South West, I went home and I was with my parent. When I was with them, I was collecting monthly stipend from them. After a while, Issues started arising when they always tried to influence my decisions about certain issues. Most time they thought their decision was always the best and mostly ignore mine because they believed I don't have any responsibility since they were the ones meeting my basic needs.

Not quite long after then, I contacted a friend who advised I should start taking responsibility for myself and that its until then my parent would start taking me serious. After a short while, I informed my parent that I was leaving the house to look for a Job. I told them I was moving to another state. They were against of it and advised that I should first get a job before leaving.

I took my stand on the issue. The next day I went to the market to buy the things I needed with the little money I saved. On getting home they were shocked, it was then they knew I meant what I said.

The next day I carried all my things and I left. I chose not to collect money from them even when they offered to help. Was I scared of my actions? Yes, I was. It was like letting go of comfortability to uncertainty. But yet I'm grateful I took that bold step. After few weeks after I moved out of the house I got a job although the pay was quite small but the joy of being independent overwhelmed my soul. Before I knew it, things started to get better and better.

I'm happy I took that bold step at that particular phase of my life because it helped in opening my eyes to opportunities around.

All images used are mine

Thanks for reading...

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

What a beautiful story, it was a bold step indeed but it was necessary because growth is an integral part of life and independence is a basic milestone in this thing called adulthood.
Without it, you will continually be seen as a child no matter your age.

You are right. Thanks for stopping by

This is such an interesting post, growth is very essential to our living and the sooner we become independent the better and easier for us.

You are right. Thanks for stopping by

It's a pleasure.

Wow I'm really impressed by your move after service, not many will be willing to leave their comfort to uncertainties but you proved it yourself that it's possible.

I pray you continue to find more and better opportunities on this your quest to independence.

Amen, Thanks for the compliment

You are indeed privileged, having parents who could cater for your needs is a blessing...

Yes, thats true. Thanks for stopping by

 23 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

OMG It's interesting to know that your parents were actually paying you on top the alawee you were receiving.

You're indeed your parents daughter