There is always hope through our a difficult moment and light at the end of a tunnel

in Hive Naija28 days ago

As I was about to write this, I was reminded of how things played out years ago. After my national diploma at the polytechnic in Ibadan, it took me three years before I was able to gain admission for the next phased of academic pursuit. Before then, I had written a post-school examination and was not given admission. I was not really happy about the situation, but on a faithful day I received a message from a longtime friend telling me he saw me at a popular bus stop; that was how the journey of our friendship continued, and then advised me to apply in another school. Which I did and luckily for me I was given admission for the next phase of my academic pursuit.

Imaginesource

I find myself in a new academic environment, and everything looks so strange to me because in my previous school, the school calendar was always a guide for the academic activities for the semester. The new calendar dates we had resumed earlier before students started receiving admission letters, as at the time we resumed, we had just a month and a few weeks towards examination. Ha! Am I watching a movie?? No it's reality we were not giving a week off campus for students to study. I have always been a person who reads after every lecture, but this new school of mine will gave me a tough time with my academic performance.

Just like a flash, I met myself in the examination hall, and within me, I am not ready. My friends from my previous school know my academic performance. I remember Steven telling me to increase the hours I spend studying because this new school is different from where we were coming from. I taught it was a joke, not until I found myself in the examination hall. I tried to do my best during the period of the examination, it was never easy on my end because while writing exams, we are giving assignments that will take time to complete and must be submitted the following day. I just had to go through the stress with tears in my eyes.

Thank God I was able to scale through; I graduated. I put my pen up, but not down yet. Preparing for my final clearance in school is another wahala. After going through the necessary process for clearance, I moved from one office to another just to clear myself of not owning any pending fees at the school. I went straight to the exam and record to collect my statement of results.

I have waited patiently so I could serve my father's land; I didn't follow my friends, who were not patient enough to run a part-time program. My village people were waiting, but God passes them. I met the young lady in charge of my department results; she told me my results were not ready. I have been going for weeks but was told desame thing, and this gorgeous lady wants to serve her father's land immediately due to the age limit. I had already applied for the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC). I wouldn't want anything to stop me from obeying the Clarion call. I've been visiting the office to see if my results was ready, but it's still same story. The date for me to report to camp has been sent. I had to meet the lady and explain it to her in order for my results to be processed on time. Then she told me my national diploma result had not been verified by my previous school, i.e., Polyibadan. And I had a few days left for me to report to camp. I was advised to go to Ibadan and see things myself. A day later, to report to camp, I went to school in Ibadan. Straight down to exam and record, I met a man in the office, whom I explained my plight to, and then he directed me to another office, not knowing he was the one who would sign if the results were verified. Getting to the office I was directed to, I saw my results and other students from my new school on her table. I explained myself to her. At first, she said, Why are you just coming when you know you are going to camp tomorrow? Then she checked for my name and saw that it was verified already, but other results are not verified, they can't send only mine to the school. I was asked to pay for Korean carriers, which I did, hoping they would send it to my new school so that I could collect my statement of results. Unfortunately, I was at the school gate when my new school exam and record officer called me and said that they hadn't gotten any results. I had to go back to the office and explain to the lady in charge and ask her if she would speak to my new school exam and record officer, and she said yes. They spoke, and she requested her number, which I gave her. That was how my results were sent through social media. On my way out, I met the man I saw when I entered the first office , and he asked if I was able to pay and solve the issue. I explained how it was solved, and he said you have to find favor from God. Things like this are not done on social media.

Truly, it was a difficult moment, but I had hope I would get my results and obey the Clarion call. God did it for me; I smiled at last. Delay is not denial.

Thank you for reading. This is my entry for the week

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Educational system in this country is enough to want to make a student give up on education, there isnt any support system for student you need the help.
i am glad you where able to overcome all this challenges.
The best part of life is that there is always hope. !BBH

@babyfash! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fashtioluwa. (3/5)

Thank you

Our educational system needs to be attended to, not everyone will be able to go through the stress. I am glad I came out strong

Yahh i can remember that moments, exam stress and reading your ass out out, but its all part of the fun though thank Goodness u pulled through

Dear, sometimes student mental health needs to be considered when compelled to go through the stress

Very important , understood

 27 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Indeed delay isn't denial, some school staff can frustrate somebody to the point you'd start questioning yourself, I'm glad you were able to get your statement of result and were able to go to camp the next day.

The stress was just so much, our academic setting needs to be reformed in order to relieve student from unnecessary stress

I know just how it feels when your friends are going for service and then you are left behind. Questions from relatives and neighbours alone can make you depressed. God did it for you, indeed.

Yes he did

Congratulations @babyfash! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP