Sibling Rivalry

in Hive Naijalast month

Sibling rivalry can be really ugly especially when there is no love amongst you. When your siblings hate you, they make living worthless for you.

Based on a true-life story

I have three siblings and while growing up, we were so close to the point of sharing everything we had with each other. My mum made us believe that we were all we had. She made sure we were best friends and she made us understand that, it was we against the world. She had no favorite daughter as we were all her favourites. We had our little quarrels but we never let it get serious. Everything was going perfectly well until my cousin started living with us. She lost both parents when she was seven and began living with grandma and grandpa. My dad being the eldest son in the family decided to take her in and the whole family was okay with it.

source
When she came, her principles and values were quite different from ours. We gave her time to blend in and we gradually taught her how we operate in the family.

But there was something strange about her. No matter how hard we tried to bring her close, she kept pushing herself away. She loved making friends with outsiders more than we, her siblings. I am older than her so I did not see that as an issue but our last born who was her age mate was the one facing her fury. Whenever they go out together, she paints a bad picture of her sister and makes everyone hate her. She kept telling her friends in school how she was being mistreated at home because she is an orphan.

The painful part of the story is that she is just 11 years old, I wonder how she was able to cook up such stories for both her classmates and school teachers. It got so bad that their school teachers hated Nina (the last child of my family) to the point of bullying her. Nina is the quiet type and while she was going through all this, none of us were aware of it. The only thing we noticed was that she was not as happy as she used to be.

An incident happened one time when they went to school, Zoey my cousin sister arrived at school barefoot and when her teachers asked her where her shoes were, she said they went bad and my mum refused getting her new one meanwhile Nina was putting on her shoes. The teacher felt bad for her and decided to get her new shoes. When Zoey came back home, she came back with new shoes and when momma asked her where she got them from, Zoey claimed that her school teacher gave them to her as a reward for her good performance in class. We were all proud of her and happy for her as well. We all got to find out she was lying when her school teacher confronted my mum about her behaviour towards the child. It was her school teacher who narrated the entire story to my mum. My mom came back home that evening so furious and called her to confirm what had happened.

How God would have it, Momma came back home with the school teacher. When she saw the school teacher, she claimed that she told the teacher that she lost her shoes on her way to school that was why she came to school without shoes. What a story.

The teacher was amazed as well. What surprised the teacher the most was how she was able to lie in front of her without any iota of fear in her. It was later discovered that she destroyed her shoes while going to school. Only heavens knows why she did that.

She was good at playing the victim and making Nina the bad person. It got worse when they both got admission into a boarding school. A lot happened that made everyone hate Nina. Nina was bullied by her classmates because of the stories Zoey cooked up. When they came back home for holiday, Nina was so slim and was always scared. Mummy even cried when she heard what Nina went through and the stories she told her classmates concerning my family.

My mum made a statement which I always remember. She said ***"The same way you came into this family is the same way you will leave. When you are gone, you will realise how much we have loved you but then it will be too late to come back." ***

They went back to school and when it was holidays, Zoey told my dad that she didn't want to come back and stay with us she wants to go and meet our grandparents and my dad agreed. Two years later, she said she want to come back and she explained how it was one of our uncles who asked her to do the things she did. But like my momma said, it was too late.

She now steals, lies and does all sorts of mischievous things that are unspoken of. One thing about life is that, truth always prevails.

One thing mummy keeps telling us is to always pray for her and we do so till date. Nina has managed to win the hearts of her classmates and teachers. Before Zoey left the school, she was caught stealing from other students countless times.

The question I keep asking myself to date is why will a child be that bitter over a family that loved her?

I loved her so well, I never for a moment wanted her to feel alone but then, she had already made up her mind to do what she knew best.

I really wished I could go into detail about how my family was painted as evil because of a little child. People are quick to judge when they know little or nothing about a situation. I learnt from that experience not to be quick to judge.

Living in an environment where you are hated is very toxic. Till today, I thank God for the life of my little sister.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

 last month  

This reminds me of a girl that used to paint her mother and sister black just for the things she got from us. I knew she was a green snake when she went ahead to do the same to me; cooking up lies and telling a guy I was dating things that didn’t even exist. Till today, I’m weary of the female species especially those who only remember you when they want something

Such people are sneaky and are good at setting others up

I have come to discover this saying to be true, that "you don't know the value of what you have until you lose it".
Thank God for your sister, she was able to absorb it because it was not part of her to hate nor retaliate in a negative way.

I really thank God for her life. Thanks for stopping by

Congratulations @bhetea01! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 2250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 2500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners