You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Frequent Are Power Outages for You?

in Hive Naija4 months ago

I completely empathize with your situation @olujay, we used to be in the same boat here. It is even funnier as I am in a suburb outside the city and the city has 24x7 power and we still keep getting outages. I should not complain too much or I might jinx it as we used to have whole day power cuts earlier and now it is just 20-30 mins here or there. All apartments in our block have battery inverters and I am very thankful for it though even if it is an added cost every year. Without it I would not be able to do my job as work has largely become hybrid since the pandemic. Here's hoping the power situation becomes better for you too!

Sort:  
 4 months ago  

Hmmm...I guess you're pretty good regardless. At least, you expect power soon enough and have a backup electricity system. I wonder how having battery inverter system is an added cost every year. Can you explain? I am looking to set up one for myself with solar panels.

In case of battery invertor the maintenance is an ongoing cost. Every quarter they come and check the invertor, top up the distilled water if needed, and also check on battery performance. For a solar inverter too there will some maintenance required. In India there is not a lot of DIY, but possibly if one can learn it they can maintain these inverters themselves.