You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Navigating Hive: A Newbie's Guide to a Sublime Experience

in Hive Naija5 months ago

When I started here and until about a year later, even just months ago, I felt like a pupil starting out at a new school. There was much information to consume, so many things going on in communities and the discord channels. Because I tried to take it all at once, it became very overwhelming.

My onboarder did his best to teach me the ropes and then let me on to navigate. But because stuff wasn't happening just as fast as I hoped they would, it got tiring. That aside, I wasn't even asking questions, I was all by myself.

To thrive here, work must be done. I know that very much now. In recent times, I've been checking through some of the persons i presume I started almost same time as who are doing quite well here and it's so easy what the difference between myself and them are. They're everywhere. They're consistent. They show up. I lag in these areas. I noticed though that, whenever I put in a little more time and effort here, I always spot some difference.

Two things I know now that will make every newbies journey here a tad bit easier are asking questions and engaging. Plus some tiny little bit of patience. Very important.

I might not exactly be a newbie but I find this helpful for me right now, so, Thank you.

#dreemerforlife

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

I understand how it feels to see people that you started with or started after you appear to be doing better than you. In as much as I consider myself inquisitive for most of my journey—I still am, though—I was lagging in many areas. I wasn't consistent and wasn't putting in enough effort. I was usually around anyway, observing and learning. And somehow, I got the hang of Hive and turned to be a full-time resident.

There aren't that many people that get all the information that they need to prosper when they are starting out, and it can suck sometimes. What matters is being willing and open to learn, and then what you do when you get the information. I'm glad you found this useful.