MY JOURNEY OF INDEPENDENCE

in Hive Naija17 days ago

The onset of my independence marked the beginning of a new chapter in my life. I was only 18 years old and that was the first time I ever felt so independent and lonely. I had just gotten admission into the university , I was so overjoyed to be able to complete all the processes involved. Although, it was a moment I have waited for a long time, so it finally came. I was also excited for the new challenges and opportunities that lay ahead, but at the same time I felt so nervous about being independent. Up until that moment, my parent had always been there to protect and guild me. But I was going to spending a whole lot of time all by myself, I wasn’t even sure if i was ready.

isaiah-mcclean-Q1AWOs_QvJg-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Isaiah McClean on Unsplash

One of the biggest changes was that I would be living in a lodge alone, doing the cooking, the laudry all by my self . Actually it was a big deal to me and kinda scary because I had never been allowed to live all by myself. My parent were hesitant at first, but they eventually agreed to let me try. The first day for lectures came, and I found myself getting up so early, I prepared for the day and I walked to the hall. It was a beautiful day, and I felt so grown-up and independent.

After that, I started living alone, walking to class everyday, and choosing who I want as a friend. I loved the feeling of being responsible for myself. A lot of people will say it’s a small easy thing to do. But honestly, it was a big step towards independence. Doing all that gave me a sense of freedom and responsibility that I had never felt before not until that day . I could do whatever in want any day, any time without being controlled by my parent. I could just go out at my own pace and enjoy myself. Even with this moments of freedom, I still missed being at home with my family, they just call once in a while and the call wont even stay long which pissed me off at times.

I think that feeling of independence is what I remember most about that moment. It was the first time that I felt like I was in control of my own life and I could do anything I set my mind to. Although, it was scary from the start, but I just had to get ready for it. It was also a powerful feeling and it has stayed with me ever since. The feelings of independence made me a strong, fearless and capable person, it also increased my self confidence and had made a realize a greater sense of responsibility. and I learn to always take things one step at a time and also not be afraid to ask for help when I’m in need. It was a defining moment in my life and it helped me become the adult that I am today.

Thanks For Visiting My Page

Sort:  

Wow...That's nice

 16 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Congratulations @chelsie-b! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024