First time going for voting

in Hive Naijalast month

Get your sit and brag a popcorn. You are about to Netflix and chill on this life experience on my first time going out for election as an INEC (Independent National Electoral Commission)official

I have never worked as an official before, I always hear people talk about their experiences during elections. Some of the stories were scary while some were funny. I was hoping to be posted in my hometown but I was posted to Buguma,in Rivers State , Nigeria. if you have ever been to Rivers State, then you will know the place or must have heard about the place. Any which way. I started preparing for my journey to buguma. But then I don't even know anybody there or where I was going to sleep cause it was my first time traveling to the place. I love adventure a lot, so I took it as one of my adventure to discover a new place. They say day was drawing near but I started hearing stories of how dangerous and rough the place is and then another story that we will be sleeping inside the classroom.I was told that the place is a no go area during governorship election. That they usually shot guns there.
Anyways I was told to go with a canvas, polo, and free jeans so I can run if it happens. I reluctantly agreed, and I packed my bag for the journey.I then I remember a friend that once told me that his from the place I put a call across. Luckily for me, He ask me to come that his place is available. Mind you cashless policies wan wound person then. I got to the place, my journey was smooth. My dear, I for listen to them but curiosity took the better part of me. I set out but I made new friends in the car I boarded, I went as a dedicated INEC official. I was determined to ensure a smooth voting process during the governorship election. However, things took a hilarious yet unfortunate turn.

Screenshot_20240524-111724_1.png

As we were setting up the voting materials in the secondary school field to take them to our various polling station, na so we saw boys from nowhere.
Before we tried to understand what was going on, omo dey don lock us up inside the school premises, I was like wetin dey happened here, I was told that the guys were from the opposite political party and that rumors were flying that the other party has Tamped with the ballot paper. So we are going to pay for it. So just like that, we stayed hungry from 7 am till 6 pm ( emergency fasting🥺) when everything was settled. We didn't do the election that day, it was shifted to the next day. They didn't let us go, we were set free by the army men. Did I pack my bag and leave, no way because I get coconut head. I stayed back.

The next morning, we all moved to where we would be collecting the voting materials for the day election, tensions were in the air, the guys were there again, and the army men full ground. We all move to our polling station set on ballot box, and power on our biometric machine. Then settled for the day election.
As the voting commenced, everywhere was calm but fear was looming on everybody's faces.

As voting began, we heard a gunshot. I told my co-workers to tighten their shoelaces. They said is just Army men. Well, I fasten my belt, tie my shoes lace, and hold the biometric as if my life depended on it. Wondering why I held the biometric machine, my darling is because they say that if you lost the machine you would pay 3 million or face a jail term. Why una no tell me this thing on time?.Before we say jack a group of armed men stormed the location, shooting indiscriminately. Pandemonium erupted, and voters scrambled for safety.

In the chaos, I found myself face-to-face with one of the attackers, who aimed his gun at me. I don't know how I ran with lightning-fast reflexes, I pushed him and sprinted toward a nearby open house, we pushed the owner outside and locked the door. I barricaded myself and others inside, praying for the violence to end.

IMG_20240511_181957_739.jpg

The attackers, however, began to break down the door. With seconds to spare, I spotted an open door that led to another room and made a daring escape, leaping into the room straight to the under-bed.I hid there, listening in horror as the gunmen continued their rampage and was asking God knows who, where the girl with the biometric ran to. My heart was on my hand, I was praying. I silently was saying my father no be like this i go die na. Come to my rescue. After what seemed like 3 or 5 minutes, we heard helicopters in the air, guns, and finally everywhere was calm.

Miraculously, I emerged unscathed and made my way to safety. Despite the trauma, I refused to let the experience deter me. Later in the day we started gisting about how we all escaped with smile. But I thank God for life

But I was never going to work as an inec staff ever again. That experience was terrible, people sustained serious injury, some people died

Sort:  

That was so terrifying.. really a first experience that will hardly erase from your mind. Thanks to God that you were saved despite all ups and downs. Of course no one should escape such and try inec palava anymore
What an adventure gone wrong 😃

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@nkemakonam89(1/5) tipped @coolbabe88

@nkemakonam89 my dear, I won't ever go again. No way

 last month  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Congratulations @coolbabe88! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you to everyone who voted for me

That's a terrifying experience. My heart was beating faster as I read your story. Politics in Nigeria is brutal. Many INEC officials lost their lives to attacks like this. Thank God that you escaped the harm. How was the election later completed? Was the area's results cancelled without rerun?

No, we later finished the election, and they still call the results like that oo