Cheers🥂to the good old days

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Mother's day  (1).png

One of the things that interest me the most was my childhood days. I have a lot of interesting memories I would laugh about when I recall. Aside the time we had with our friends and family which the use of mobile phones have reduced to the barest minimum, there was this serenity.

Thank God for technology, it has exposed us to a lot of information which we didn't have during our childhood but there are parts of that childhood I wish we can have back. It's not like technology was not available then but the exposure was not much.

Here are few things from my/our childhood

Mobile phones
I remembered when mobile phone was introduced to Nigeria during the regime of Olusegun Obasanjo in 2004. It seemed like only the rich could acquire it.

The available phones then were Nokia, Motorola, Sony Ericsson with a pen by the side 😆😆 and the rest. For those that cannot afford a phone or ran out of airtime, there were people who made business out of allowing you use their phone for calls and you'd pay. I think 1 minute was twenty naira.

My dad's sim card then was encased in a plastic casing almost the size of a notebook 😆😂. The sim card was even a gift else it would have been bought for twenty thousand naira. He kept the sim for months before he could buy a phone.

20240515_194516.jpg

The music
The hip hop artists then were still at least reasonable. They used coded words for some of their lyrics. Even video vixens were moderately dressed
I can recall the names of some artistes; Olu Maintain, these guys too Danfo Drivers, I can't remember the name of the guy who sang Nigeria jagajaga and the one who sang e ba mi kígbe olè (help me shout thief)

Television
Television was analogue with a protruding back
Our stations were the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA) and our local television station. They were up to the task. TV shows like Super Story, Tinsel, Papa Ajasco (comedy) in it's raw form, I need to know( for the awareness of HIV/Aids) and Face2face amongst others were educative and entertaining. They were not rated PG. There were no scenes that children could not see.

27V414T.jpg

There were educational programmes still on NTA then - Funbus on Saturdays, Work it out for mathematics competition also on Saturdays and Take a step on Sundays. I think Sesame Square came back in it's refined form when we were nearing the end of secondary school. We hardly miss them except NEPA messed us up 😁😁
.
Things were moderate probably because not everybody had access to a phone. The least you could do was visit a cyber cafe, buy the minute you can afford, log on to the computer and do what you want before your time runs out.

What more can I say. I wish we can have some aspects back though

I'm sounding like an old woman. Maybe I am 😊😊

To everyone who can relate, I propose a toast 🍷 in remembrance of our good old days. Your can raise your glass in the comments.

Thumbnail was designed with Canva

SIM pack image from @maziibe on X

TV: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.nbcnews.com/news/amp/wbna7681233

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha