Living Rent Free In My Mind VS My Reality Check

in Hive Naija23 days ago

IMG_20240604_095432.jpg

Hello beautiful people, welcome once again to my blog, and happy new month to all of us. On this week's Hive Naija Weekly Prompt | Edition 49

I will be writing on the second question that says;

What is that one thing you think you can do but haven't done and one thing you thought you can't do but you're doing it now?




This question is very funny and tricky, I don't know about others though but when it comes to the part where I think about doing something and feel in my head that I can do something especially something I have never tried out before, I should be given an award for that because my head/mind do all the work for me first before I even think of trying it out from watching a food reel I have never eaten or tried out on Instagram, but having it in my head that I can do it if I try it out.

The truth is I am not sure the year I am going to ever have the balls to try that out or is it when I watch a particular young lady I follow and love to watch so much on Instagram, who gives us style inspo on the different ways one can style their head tie, but in real life, I am a whack when it comes to tying head tie that I prefer to go with beret to any church service even in days I feel like using a head tie, that truth my friends can attest to it.




IMG_20240604_094815.jpg

There are so many things I wish to do, in fact in my head, I think and feel that I can do them but just in my head, never tried them out, and not sure of the years I am going to try them out. I think my head/mind does most of the jobs for me, it not only does the thinking, but it also does the analyzing, talking, and decisions. Lol, don't blame me, that's one aspect of my life, people don't know. If I am not talking, just know that my mind/head is doing all the work for me, so before I talk, just know that my mind has concluded.

Also back then when I was in Junior Secondary school, in my home economics class, I was taught how to make beads and all the other things we can think of doing with our hands. It was a private school, so everything they taught, they experimented because we had the labs and all the necessary equipment that was needed for it. We were only taught the basics though and nothing too deep, just you putting the beads into the fishing line and coupling it up, nothing more, nothing less but ever since then, I have had it in my mind, in short, it has been living rent free in my head that I can make beads but I have never tried it out.




IMG20240604094708.jpg

There was a time when boiling water to make a simple thing as garri was difficult, how much more cooking a whole meal, yeah, I am still lazy when it comes to cooking, but I can not only imagine what how want to cook, how I want the taste of what I want to cook should be and the outcome of the food, and also do the same way without a hitch, unlike back then, when I used to run away from people who are talking about cooking because I couldn't put two and two together.

I was always running away from the kitchen especially back then when I was living with my cousins and her mum, they always made fun of me for not being able to cook, so to avoid them mocking me, I usually escaped from the house with the excuse of having so much work to do when it was time to cook. Those years were horrible years of my life compared to now but I can do it with ease.




Secondly, I never thought in my wildest imagination that there would come a time when I would be writing on a blog or writing to earn money because I am not a writer, I don't know how to arrange words, that too only existed back then in my head. That's why all my social media handles are empty because I don't write, I rarely do that because it always feels stressful, all I did was imagine how to incorporate words and make them enticing, sensible, and captivating but never tried it until Hive came around.

It felt hard for me in the first few months of opening a Hive account, I struggled to come up with words, to write a lengthy post, one I enjoy doing, even when I had so much in my head, that I just couldn't conjure the words but currently, I write with ease except I don't feel like. Even on some occasions, I do a mixture of life experiences and fiction but it feels real because I now know how to maneuver my words and place them in the right places.




Thank you for reading!!!

Sort:  

Writing isn't easy, I never thought I could be writing here as well, I never saw myself as a writer but then here I am writing every day, the things we thought we couldn't do most time are the things we find ourselves doing easily.

 23 days ago  

I also have that habit of having conversations in my head. A lot of calculations has gone through my thoughts before I carry out specific actions and I think that is good. As long as we take advantage of it, the mind always does the work.

 23 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

I make conversation in my head too. But that was what birthed my writing skills. Have a lovely day