Bringing In The Wedding Complaints

in Hive Naija19 days ago (edited)

It's another saturday, my parents just returned from a wedding we were invited to. I couldn't go with them for one reason or the other but I was really excited to hear all the interesting hot wedding gists, the gbas gbos, and all the spicy wedding drama. The looks on their faces give off the feeling that something was definitely wrong. When I asked how the wedding turned out, my dad responded with this deep hiss he gives when he wants to let you know that he is disappointed and I didn't need to ask further questions to catch on.

Weddings are magical and happy moments of celebration for a couple who are set to spend the rest of their lives together. However, the wedding guests also look forward to sharing in a couple's joy when they attend weddings. Sometimes, the guests may not be too happy after all because of few mishaps during the wedding. Personally, I have had quite some complaints from the weddings I attended in the past which you may actually find relatable if you've been attending weddings.

Most of the weddings I've been to always have this problem of time management. You can boldly see written on the invitation, 12pm prompt, only to have the couple arriving one hour or two hours later. I can endure a 10-30 minutes delay, I mean inconveniences happen sometimes right? But a whole hour or even two? Really? People can have other commitments!

I remember a few times when I didn't want to miss out entirely on a wedding I was invited to because of conflicting schedules, so I decided to drop by and honour the couple's invitation before dropping my gift and leaving to catch up with other things. It was very disappointing to arrive at the venue at the said time and wait for hours before the couple came, I could've just left initially but I couldn't keep carrying the gift I got all around, very inconveniencing.


I attended my uncle's wedding 2 years back and the same thing happened. We all waited for so long that I started to think crazy, "did his bride run away? My brother was his best man, so after the wedding, he came back and told us that they came straight from the tailor's shop to the wedding hall. Apparently my uncle's wedding suit and that of his best man was all done that morning, causing all the delays. Imagine your tailor forgetting that your wedding is in few hours and your dress is nowhere near ready. The lack of organization in most weddings is quite alarming. Guests arriving at the wedding and the decorations are still taking place at the time of the wedding. One of them even asked to use my chair as a ladder to attach a piece of decoration.


One of the things I can never understand at weddings is the unnecessary extravaganzas. I attended a wedding one time and there was both a live band and a DJ. It was my first time seeing that, I don't know if it is a trend or something. It just couldn't make sense when the two parties are playing the same song at the same time. The DJ was busy doing his job and mixing up songs while the live band were playing their drums and other instruments to the tone of the same song. To make matters worse, I was given a seat very close to their loudspeakers. The noise booming from those speakers were very disturbing, I had to go home with a terrible headache.


The issue of overcrowding the wedding venues with lots of invited guests is something needing special attention. Why invite so many people and make them go through unpleasant things just to be at your wedding? I've seen a case where the guests have to manage a hall with no proper ventilation. Everyone was just uncomfortable in the space, some had to hang around outside just to catch some air. On the other hand, there's always an issue of not having enough refreshments and food for the guests. All that dancing and cheering for hours and one couldn't even get something to eat? People are definitely going home unhappy.


It's understandable that different couples may have different choices when it comes to planning weddings but addressing the issue of time management, better organization, crowd management and most importantly keeping the guests refreshed will actually contribute to a happier wedding ceremony.
Image from Freepik

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

You see that Africa time they always use in planning wedding is what I don’t have
Let your 10am be 10am

I really don’t like delay because I work with time always so when there is a delay in the wedding
I also detest this and it always happen At almost all the traditional ceremony

It happens in almost every occasion. It's one thing every Nigerian can relate to.

Unless they haven’t attended any wedding before 😂

That's right😀

A lot of things happen in this country of ours. Imagine a tailor sewing a wedding attire on the day of the wedding 😲. It's so unbelievable but then, it happens.

Couples should be able to consider their pockets before organizing their wedding. The fact that a wedding was extravagantly organized does not determine the smiles on the guests' faces as well as the couples themselves.
A whole lot of things need to be put into consideration for a delightful wedding to take place.

It takes a lot of deliberate preparation to organize a wedding. It may not be a perfect one because everyone has their own choices, but a lot of things can be managed to the success of a happy wedding.

 19 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

You've truly mentioned a lot of points that characterizes weddings in this part of the world, especially time management. It's your day but we deserve to do other things with our day as well. It's highly disrespectful and showcases their lack of preparation.

A lot of people tend to do whatever they like because it's 'their day' forgetting that without the guests coming to share in the occasion, it's not going to be such a happy one after all.

That's exactly it. And I hope that people can one day see it. Thank you for participating.🌺