Millitary Encounter; Lesson Learned.

in Hive Naija3 months ago

IMG_3260.jpeg

I think I can now say I have an opinion on military personnels because I have had to interact with them on three different occasions and the situations were not palatable.

I could remember a day like that, it was a really long time ago, say about 7 years ago. I was travelling down from the school where I went to write my POST UTME. It was a bus full of different people of different tribe. I could even say that, I was the youngest in the bus.

Along the way, if I could remember very well, I'd say, after Ibadan a little bit, we encountered hold-ups. Oh boy! It wasn't even a small one, it was quite long. Almost every driver started to look for different ways to get out of the traffic. Some kept entering into an available line, all to the end that they move forward.

Our driver unfortunately, was one of the unfortunate ones. He saw a military zone, that has a demarcation that leads to their territory and head into it, with the intention to move his car from the back to the front.

"Hey, stop there!" One of the military personnel shouted.

Immediately, the driver stopped and he was asked to come down.

That was when I decided to look around me, and I noticed that indeed we've trespassed. Because lying in different position of punishment were other drivers like ours who flout the rules. I just knew we have entered it already 😅.

He was told to remove his clothes, sit on the floor, and look at the sun.

Oh dear!

That very day, the sun chose to be really angry because it was shining in all its glory!

The occupant of the bus tried to beg them, but it yielded no results. After a really long time, he was allowed to go.

His eyes, ha! Mouth cannot say.

At some point, I was even thinking someone else will drive us home because how will he see the road? I really can't remember much beyond this anyways, but it was an experience that has stayed with me for a really long time.

And trust me, it keeps popping up different questions in my mind.

Like "Was there a rule already that you can't pass through their demarcation and it was our driver who flouted the rules. Because if that there were no rules about it, and just assumed that drivers should know, I think it is being unfair from their end to punish the drivers. Because an adage once said, "a city without a rule, there is no sin."

My other question is "why can't phone calls be made whenever we are close to a military zone? "

Your honest opinion will really go a long way.

Sort:  

Military zones are or should be clearly marked and strictly respected. But also, if there's a guard or patrol, you need to stop. The driver must have known about it. But then again, as I've gathered so far by reading posts, rules are not really respected in Nigeria. In other countries, these things are taken seriously.

Anyway, I see there's a lot of room for improvement as far as your engagement is regarded. I hope to see some improvement in that area. Can I count on you?

Well, maybe the driver knows about it and intentionally did the opposite I really cannot fathom.

In all, I await the Nigeria where rules will be strictly followed. Till then...

In regards to the engagement, I'm working on it from my end, I hope to do more.

Thank you so much.

I can imagine how distressing that must have been, especially being one of the younger passengers on the bus.

You raise some thoughtful questions - it does seem excessive to severely punish drivers for an unclear infraction they may not have even been aware of. Effective signage and communication about the rules of military zones could prevent such incidents. I wonder if the no-trespassing rule was made clear there.

However, I also understand the military likely has their safety reasons for keeping a high level of control around their facilities. It's a complex situation with valid perspectives on both sides.

Actually! Hopefully they will help us indicate where not to trespass again whenever we get really close to thier zone.

Thank you so much for engaging sis.

Wow
It's well
Be strong

Thank you.

I will.